Poor Deckles in Just Jane

  • Feb. 27, 2014, 7:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Second ear infection in less than 2 months for The Boy. Seems like he has a cold too. He's got fever, cough and more sneezing than one infant should have. Overall, he is pretty miserable (though I have gotten some smiles), and in our house, a miserable Deckles means miserable Mommy and Daddy. For awhile there, his sleeping had gotten better, but now with the ear infection (plus, the doctor sees that his molars are starting to come in) we will likely regress again. And he is so close to walking it's scary. At physical therapy, he now spends most of his time pushing around a walker. Most of his time at home is spent pretty much the same way. Yesterday at the doctor, he weighed 22#15oz and is 28" tall. He has started dancing too. He stands in his crib and sways from side to side when we turn on his crib soother. It is freaking hilarious and we managed to get some video of it the other day.
Sunday we're having him evaluated for modeling. Everyone has been bugging us to get him into modeling, so when we heard an advertisement on the radio last weekend for open casting calls with a local agency, we got his name on the list. Hopefully he's feeling better by then. Yesterday his doctor told me I need to add dairy back into my diet. He seems to be doing better the times I have tried some, and she is concerned about me getting enough calcium. I'm down to nursing him only twice a day now. So this morning I had some cheese and a yogurt--hopefully I havent gone overboard, haha.
He is eating tons of solid food now and getting less interested in milk. Doctor said that's normal and that as long as he's getting at least 16 ounces of formula/breastmilk a day, he's fine with regards to protein and iron. Declan isnt crazy about meat or beans yet, so that was something I was concerned with. I did make him some chicken meatballs last week that he's still eating on and he liked those. He just doesnt seem to like the texture of chicken, so for now, it's probably going to be meatloaf/meatball types of things. But he continues to love fruits and veggies. Now we're buying him organic snacks to have between meals. For some reason it's so hysterical watching him feed himself.
As for me, I'm exhausted. Ryan and I have talked about how being sleep deprived and getting very little accomplished has become our new normal and we are working at being okay with that. It won't last forever, though, so we're trying to be patient and enjoying this stage to the fullest. Surely we will look back on it one day and miss it.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.