Bullets From a Plane in These Foolish Things

  • June 19, 2019, 1:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

  • Guys, I’m currently on a plane headed to the supplier summit of the iconic company that I’m creating product for. I will admit that I am nervous about the fact that I currently have an unruptured and unrepaired pseudoaneurysm in my head, however I am also willing to admit that I took a valium as well as a glass of wine and I’m feeling pretty damn okay. I’m also hydrating and will probably need to pee in a huge way before this bird lands. I do not feel like getting up and walking through the aisle, but we’ll see.

  • I would like to also report that I asked at the gate check-in desk of my American Airlines flight if I could gate check my bag and speak to the flight attendants before takeoff to tell them of my situation and they were BEYOND accommodating. In fact, they let me board during special boarding before first class even so I could have extra time to talk with the flight attendants. I told them what was going on with me and said that I had all of my medical paperwork in my bag and gave them an emergency contact whom they could contact. They also asked where my injury is and how I might possibly be affected. I told them to please watch for signs of stroke which, in my case, would include blindness in my left eye, difficult or strange speech and possibly right side paralysis. They were so kind that they made me tear up. I love them.

  • However, I HATE the douchebag who was sitting in front of me on my flight. He did the absolute NONO in coach. That is, reclining his seat as far as it would go, causing my laptop that I’m writing this entry on to close on my fingers and his seat to cram right into my knees. I asked him if he wouldn’t mind scooting back up just a little bit and got the most horrid stink eye from this dickhole. THEN! His fucking lady friend turned around and said, “These are reclining seats and we PAID for them!” Douche dude sat up for just a minute, but then right back to the reclining thing. So I got up to pee (hydrating, you know) and on the way to the toilet, I noticed that there were a gagillion empty seats, so I asked a sweet man if I could sit in the aisle seat next to him (he is in window and there’s a seat in between). Bless this man. Fuck Reclining Man and his horrid, horrid girlfriend.

    ·
  • Oh! And I also forgot to tell you that I arrived at the airport early so I could take advantage fo the VIP airline lounge that I pay big bucks for annually just to calm myself down and eat some breakfast and get some work done before the flight. While I was having some decaf and oatmeal loaded with fresh fruit, I called American Airlines service folks to tell them of my medical situation. I got a kind of snippy customer service woman who sounded kind of put out. The only way I could explain my situation was to tell her that I have been diagnosed a brain aneurysm (harder to explain a “pseudoaneurysm at the site of a carotid artery dissection”, so brain aneurysm is a simplified explanation, but it is valid and understandable). WELL. Wouldn’t you know that the customer service woman I was speaking to softened waaaay up and told me that she was a survivor of a burst brain aneurysm!! She told me her whole story and spoke with such a knowing and amazing tone. How crazy is that???? Anyway, all of this to say, the airline is taking amazing care of me (minus Mr. Dick and Ms. Cunt in the front of the plane)

  • OK. It seems like we are on our initial descent. I’m going to try to post this before we land. So far so good, y’all. These are firsts I am taking and I’m thrilled to know that I can potentially fly without bursting an artery!!!

    With relief,
    GS

  • Last updated June 19, 2019


    Athena June 19, 2019

    brain aneurysm is a perfect way to explain it simply. i am beyond delighted you are landing safely.

    Deleted user Athena ⋅ June 19, 2019

    Me too ! :-)

    nowthat'salady June 19, 2019 (edited June 19, 2019)

    Edited

    People who recline their seats on airplanes with no regard for the people sitting behind them with the rationale that they paid for their seats are the worst kind of people. That is so illogical and inconsiderate. These are the same people who don't return their carts to cart corrals and I am 100% certain there is an indirect relationship with both of these and intelligence.

    Florentine nowthat'salady ⋅ June 19, 2019

    Yes, yes, yes!

    Deleted user nowthat'salady ⋅ June 19, 2019

    This!

    Sugar Magnolia June 19, 2019

    Hmmmm....I might have gotten nervous knees that couldn't be still, bumping the tray and the back of Mr. Dick's seat. Safe travels.

    Fred June 19, 2019

    I have to say that I think reclining is something you have to put up with. My husband is 6' 3" and when the person in front reclines it jams his knees in place but he just reclines his own seat instead of saying anything. I once encountered a very hostile woman on a red eye transatlantic flight who was irate that I reclined my seat so that I could comfortably nurse my baby. I explained to her that I'd put it back upright when I was done but that I had a hungry weeks old infant on my lap. She started violently shaking the seat repeatedly so the flight attendants intervened and I decided not to be considerate and left my seat fully reclined for the next several hours!
    She was short too!

    Anyway, glad you were looked after and all went well!

    .bob Fred ⋅ June 19, 2019

    holy cow!! why are people so awful sometimes.

    Deleted user June 19, 2019

    American is not my favorite airline but they have always been helpful to me with my spine problems ; letting me board early and checking to see if I needed anything . Also transporting me or giving me a ride between far away gates .

    Marg June 20, 2019

    I am also thrilled you can potentially fly without bursting an artery too! Well done for getting through that!

    Gangleri June 20, 2019

    Any time the person in front of me leans back, it becomes my mission to ruin their flight. Because they have ruined mine.

    plushcreep June 23, 2019

    My dad worked for American Airlines for years, so I'm happy to hear you had such positive experiences with them.

    Ginger Snap plushcreep ⋅ June 24, 2019

    Yeah, they were good to me. I was very pleased. On the way back, the flight attendant gave me a glass of wine - in economy class! ;)

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.