RAD: NORT in These Foolish Things

  • June 16, 2019, 2:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Friday evening I hung out with a neighbor whom I’ve suddenly run into several times on the elevator. We live on the same floor. I’m not sure if this was an actual date or not, but it kinda felt like one. Just in case, I’m writing a RAD.

Name: NORT (stands for Neighbor On the Roof Top). He actually kinda looks like a Nort, heh.

Introduction Platform: The elevator in our building, ha! We’ve said hello to each other several times and then earlier in the week I’d come home to a business card stuck in my door jamb asking me if I’d like to have wine on the rooftop sometime and left his phone number. We agreed to a Friday evening rendezvous, et voila!

Age: 57

Relationship Status: Divorced a couple of years. Two (or maybe three?) older kids who are young professionals scattered over the country

Job: High-powered attorney

Lives: In my building - down the hall on my floor

Length of Date: 2 hours, maybe?

We Did: He brought a bottle of delicious Oregon wine (never tasted before and it was wonderful!) and some snacks. How sweet! I didn’t even think to bring anything. Not sure what’s wrong with me? But he’d invited me, so.... We talked and talked for a couple of hours.

He Looked: He’s tall and not super handsome, but his personality and slight ruggedness makes up for any missing handsomeness. He was wearing black denim and subtle cowboy boots…and a black golf shirt. Man in black!

I Looked: What I wore to work minus the sweater: Black denim (twinsies!), a black and white striped camisole and bright red kitten heel pumps.

Convo: So much! He told me about his work - he’s representing the police chief of a nearby city in a super exciting suit involving the FBI, several shootings and a whole bunch of corruption! It’s like a movie! Loved hearing about that. He told me about his big house on a cliff on the lake that he’s had to get rid of because it’s just too much for him, and the mansion he left to his wife in the ritzy nearby town and of things on his bucket list. He’s preparing to retire in two years at 60. I told him of my need to create a NEW bucket list and all of my recent medical scare. He listened raptly and told me about his concierge medicine (basically, he pays $$$$$ extra to keep a doctor on retainer and gets extra special medical attention. Our medical system is SO FUCKED UP, y’all). He told me about his successful children.

High Point: Really, it was the situation. You know, finding a sweet note on my door and the anticipation of seeing my nice neighbor. I loved that he did that. Really liked the date as well, but again, not sure even IF it was a date?

Low Point: No real sparks. But don’t forget, I wasn’t sure if I liked Dr. D or not and now I can’t wait until the next time I get to jump his bones (more on that in a different entry)

How It Ended: I told him I could only have one glass, and we were kinda out of stuff to talk about. Maybe I looked tired? He said he loved our little rooftop chat and said he’d text me his doctor’s information in case I was interested in the concierge medical stuff. We rode the elevator back to our floor and then went our separate ways.

Chances Are: Not sure. What even was that?

Date Rating: B


Last updated June 16, 2019


The Thirsty Oriental June 16, 2019

Interesting encounter!

Sugar Magnolia June 16, 2019

Seems like a nice, easy, relaxed start to something even if it's a friendship

Gangleri June 16, 2019

Interesting and different. Right?

bobbi01 June 16, 2019

Aww, that was sweet of him to do a bit of a picnic. I would be wary of dating a neighbour, but that's just me.

Deleted user June 16, 2019

Have you ever found any A. dates?

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ June 17, 2019

Yes! Doctor D. was an A date!

https://www.prosebox.net/entry/796959/

Deleted user Ginger Snap ⋅ June 17, 2019

Ill go back catch up on some reading.. here's my history since I can't link you to my old diary. I go by Andie I am a domestic violence Survivor my ex and his wife are stalkers and they believe in something called blood atonement which explains all their behavior. I have three children two daughters from the previous relationship and one son from my current co-parenting situation.

Marg June 17, 2019

Aw that was sweet! The concierge medical situation? Wow that that can even happen! Even if he turns out to be just a friend he sounds like a nice guy and that's never bad :)

Deleted user June 17, 2019

Snort :-) Sounds like it would be fun to me .

Satine June 17, 2019

Always good to have a friend in the building! <3

Bre M June 17, 2019

It's always fun to have someone close by who on a whim you can have a drink with and just hang out. Enjoy!

.bob June 17, 2019

Good to have a friend in the building, yes, but personally I would avoid dating a neighbor...if it goes sour, that makes for a lot of awkward encounters!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.