Living Space in A New House on a New Landscape

  • June 16, 2019, 1:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I never realized how important living space really is. I find I get very agitated when there is clutter; and in my house there is clutter. I like having things neat and organized, but the other two who live here are lax in this department. One person “thinks” they have done things, and then is stunned a week later when they come across those objects they “thought” were put away, but are right where they left them; in the general chaos of the living area.

One person likes to keep the general area clutter-free, but shove things atop my cabinets, or closet overhead space. Both persons like to stuff things in drawers and closets and shut the door. Somehow that takes care of the clutter in their minds and in the room, I guess.

Drives me nuts.

Then there’s the filing cabinet. I have to have a filing cabinet, for it is life. Life lives in that cabinet. The life you have on paper, that is. I need paper to be organized and searchable. I also need it to make sense and be categorized according to subject. One person likes to open a drawer, and stuff paper randomly in folders because actually reading the labels and determining a proper location is just way too taxing to the psyche.

Then there’s me! I tend to let things pile up in my work area or on my bed. Then when I’m tired, I just shove them aside and crash. Next thing I know, my desk and far corner of the bed have stacks of books, papers, to-do lists, and other detritus. Then I have to stage an intervention on myself. Putting things away never ends, keeping things clean never ends, and remaining organized is a work in progress.

::sigh::


Firebabe June 17, 2019

The universe tends towards entropy. ;)

DE_KentuckyGirl June 17, 2019

Omg....I also struggle with the ones I live with who seem ok with so much clutter and SHIT.Like you, I tend to have things piled up sometimes but I always get around to organizing it at some point.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.