The Great To-Do List of a Rage Fueled Weekend in Life

  • June 15, 2019, 2:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It really sounds more dramatic than it actually is.

You know how you get those moments where you’re just in the zone? Where you’re so fed up with no one else doing it that you just pound your coffee, roll up your sleeves and get elbow deep in that to-do list. Well that’s me today, I’m having one of those days.

And where I say Rage Fueled I’m not like “fuck everyone and the ground they walk on” I’m like “Okay I’ve had my outburst (2 entries? ago) now it’s time to do something to change the world” even if it is just my little corner of it.

I’ve always been of the perspective that a lot of emotions are really useless, or more so used inefficiently. This has been a perspective I’ve carried with me since I was a teen and people started cutting themselves. I’m not sure if that’s something that started in my generation, did our parents know kids who hurt themselves on purpose? I’m kinda curious about that.

ANYway, when I was around that age and had friends that were doing it, a lot of them cited that it was because the pain made them feel better or made them forget the other pain, either way it was always centered around something to do with “pain” and when I felt sad or angry I never felt the need to draw blood to hurt myself, I always thought “Well that’s dumb, it only hurts for a short while” (and by no means am I calling out those who cut or have cut, these are the memories and perspective of a 13 year old with little world vision)

So as a teen I was like “I can think of way better ways of hurting yourself and causing pain without any sort of draw to attention” (But I guess attention was also a factor) and when I got angry (omg stop talking to me while I’m typing, I love you honey but for reaaaal) I would do push ups until I couldn’t. And for a skinny mini like me, that could cause way more long term pain and actually be making gains (gaaaainzzzz)

I guess now as an adult I’ve translated that efficiency into cleaning rather than working out because lets be real, I’ve spent 20 years typing for fun, while 12 of it was spent in a kitchen, my wrists are toaaaast.

I have a pretty big list today, one that I am - of course - going alone. If I only get a quarter of it done I’ll be happy, it’ll at least set me up to make the rest of the week a little easier.

Must do:

  • Wash, dry and fold Laundry (Including the laundry that has been sitting in my wife’s hamper for… a month?)
  • Sweep, Vacuum floors
  • Work on some art
  • Complete 1 piece,
  • Bang out a design for another
  • Try to piece back together the DE Logo & Slap up a shirt design or two
  • Go out and buy new baby clothes.
  • Get litter for Mino and re-fill box.
  • Figure out Dinner, and buy food for it.
  • Wash and Sanitize all the bottles, re-fill.

Wanna do:

  • Mop all the floors
  • Tidy up a bit (file loose papers, collect the baby-toy sprawl)
  • Organize Elly’s Room
  • Clean up and sort/organize DnD stuff
  • Start Preparing the next session
  • Create Character sheets for Mari & Nori
  • Flush out Derro(Darro?) And what he’s gonna be all about
  • Clean Oven

I think that’s it. I’m sure there’s more, there’s always more 😳

Mood: Driven 🐱‍🏍
Listening to: Traffic (See what I did there!) 🚗🚗


DE_disenchanted June 15, 2019

Good luck with the to do list! It’s an impressive one. Totally know what you mean by being in the zone.

DE_imisseditagain June 16, 2019

I love rage cleaning, I feel so invigorated when I'm doing it lol. By the end I'm a sweaty, achy mess though. I've been rage cleaning a lot lately, but my house is such a mess you can hardly tell I've made any progress 🤷🏼‍♀️ Hope you were able to be as productive as you'd hoped to be!

DE_Da_Bartender DE_imisseditagain ⋅ June 18, 2019

hahah that describes my weekend to a Tee. I busted my butt all weekend now I feel like garbage and I'm trying to relax but at the same time I'm thinking "if I don't keep up, what was the point!" it's a never ending cycle lol

Shannonly June 16, 2019

I just rage-cleaned the bathroom at midnight. I saw icky build up on the counter and faucet, and freaked out. Then I cleaned out the cabinets under the sink. Then I scrubbed the floor. I think I'm done now. I hope so because I'm tired!

DE_Da_Bartender Shannonly ⋅ June 18, 2019

That's usually the only thing that stops me, my own physical limitations haha.

Deleted user June 16, 2019

Can you come to my house ? I need a Rage fueled weekend myself !

Valued Customer June 16, 2019

I have a special playlist for moments just like yours - cause it happens to me a LOT living with these people. It's called Killin' It, and full of songs to get all that arrrrrgh out and kick my to-do list's ass.
It feels SO GOOD to get everything done, and I always reward myself by lighting a candle and having a nice cold drink.

DE_Da_Bartender Valued Customer ⋅ June 18, 2019

That's a good idea, I have a wack of playlists on Spotify that are all genre based but a good 'kick down the door' playlist is needed.

DE_KentuckyGirl June 17, 2019

Your first paragraph....lmao.....that is SO ME!! If I want it done, seems I have to do it. Or sit around frustrated that others arent contributing.

I never cut, but I totally relate to releasing internal pain through a physical sense. Never for attention..was private, with a trusted person. The manifestation in physical form really brought about great release, being how I am not an emotionally expressive person so it just ended up bottled up until it couldn't be contained.

Dont think I could get that from cleaning, altho the order that brings ro my environment does help.

DE_Da_Bartender DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 18, 2019

I think the order is a big part of what helps me. Clutter and dirt just creates stress. Seeing a pair of tea glasses or a tea pot that's been sitting for a week from when her friend visited just drives me up the wall, while contradicting myself saying things like "it'd only take 2 minutes to clean up after herself why isn't she doing it!?" meanwhile for the amount of stress it's causing me, I could easily deal with it and, lets be real, forget about it just as quickly lol

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.