I'd Rather Be Focusing on Forelegs in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 15, 2019, 7:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I love delphiniums and look forward to seeing them bloom each year. They aren’t as popular in gardens where I live now, as they were where I lived before so I feel like each year I need to go looking for them.

We should be able to do that tomorrow morning.

The heat finally broke, it was record setting and seriously oppressive. I had this little scab (probably from a cat claw puncture) above my knee inside my thigh and the area was bleeding profusely earlier in the week so I cleaned it up and put on a Band-Aid.

When I went to change it yesterday morning, the Band-Aid had melted and was extremely painful to pull off. Then I had this raw area that wasn’t going to tolerate, oh, say, clothes so I had to find gauze and not sticky tape and rig up something so I could actually wear pants and I couldn’t find my paper tape, the adhesive tape or anything like it for quite some time.

It was all like a metaphor for how things have been feeling lately.

Have I mentioned that my dryer isn’t working? And that I burned my left thumb so badly Tuesday evening the only way I could get to sleep was wrapping an ice pack in a wash cloth and holding my thumb in it’s embrace.

But! I did see the most handsome male downy woodpecker out my kitchen window yesterday, I remembered to bring in my bird feeders last night and I had two wonderful cheerful classes this week.

The meditation teacher training is going well. They provide scripts that you are supposed to stick to as you learn. I will need to get volunteers as this isn’t something I can’t teach in a regular yoga class because the meditation takes 35 minutes and is done better when there are props for support and comfort.

Kes and Most Honorable are coming up this weekend to help me celebrate my 65th birthday (which is next Wednesday) so I may see if they will let me practice on them.

The script uses the word foreleg instead of shin. Really? Who uses the term foreleg when talking to humans? Maybe when one is talking about, umm, a horse? Also, you are supposed to let your thoughts be like helium balloons float up and away.

I am not a big fan of helium balloons. They are not so good for our environment…even imaginary ones.

My big achievement today is that I have both my hearing aids in correctly. I find that if I am patient and focused I can usually get at least one of them in right. Better to hear the power washer currently parked right outside my kitchen window.

Just after I typed the above I stopped and went off to teach my Friday class. I just had one student who is British and I asked him if he had ever heard the term foreleg used on humans. I asked this while we were on our backs stretching our hamstrings and getting some release in the IT Bands to distract him because these are challenging areas for him.

I do that; ask silly questions when someone is doing something challenging for them to both take their minds out of the equation and break their focus if they are trying too hard.

He had never heard the term used in this way either. I can understand with being trauma sensitive not to use certain words like pelvis but shin?

This class, the Friday class in the office, I am going to stop teaching it in a few weeks. I like teaching the folks that show up but it is just getting so weird with the tension at the office and honestly the fact that I am beginning to loathe my job makes any exposure to that environment feel toxic.

I remember that I was on the fence about letting go of the caregiving class at the hospital but the minute I did I felt relief and haven’t looked back.

I can always pick this class back up in the fall if I feel so moved. But for now I just need to divest myself of anything having to do even remotely with these strange anxious self-centered privileged child men. Bleh.


Last updated June 15, 2019


Lyn June 15, 2019

Do you find silly questions may sometimes have profound answers?

noko Lyn ⋅ June 17, 2019

Absolutely. And if not making everyone laugh is not half bad.

Marg June 15, 2019

That IS a very old-fashioned term to use for a human leg - don't think it would come up in casual conversation unless, as you say, horses were being discussed!

edna million June 20, 2019

Foreleg??!! That seems like it would just about have to refer to a four-legged creature, otherwise, why would it be the "fore" leg?? How strange -

And happy happy birthday!!!! I hope you are having a lovely, stress free, job-horrors free day today!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.