Reorganization... in Secrets from myself

  • Sept. 1, 2013, 8:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

... here at Prosebucket.

I now have three books.

They are:

Secrets from myself - which is my original book. It has an overly dramatic title and I may rename it.

Flash - for my flash fiction endeavors.

Lists - for my lists.

I then moved my Flash entries from my Secrets from Myself book to my Flash book. I did that by opening an entry in Flash, then copying the entry from Secrets from Myself and then deleting the entry from Secrets from Myself.

Interestingly enough highlighting the beginning of the entry brings the whole entry including notes. To copy the entry title you have to to another Copy and Paste. Any pictures do not come though some of the code/name of picture does.

When I copied the one List entry into the List book I finally figured out how to number correctly. I had 43 items in my list and I found by numbering right at the left margin and leaving a blank line between each line, it came out correct.

Example:

1.

2.

3.

It will do a lot of indenting and starting over of numbering if you put spaces in front of the numbers - like for making an outline. I may get to feel more comfortable with that later.

In summary I learned:

  1. It's possible to move entries from book to book but it's quite a bit of trouble and you lose your pictures. It's better to put them in the right book in the first place.

  2. Put your numbers against the left margin. And leave a empty line between them.

  3. I also see this as a preview of what it would be like to import entries from Open Diary. Pictures aren't coming - and unless you have a lot of time and a real gift for reorganization it will be difficult to mate your pictures and your entries. Entry titles probably aren't coming either.

  4. Copying an entry into a new entry would allow you to get rid of nasty notes. Notes come with the entry and then are can be edited/deleted in the new entry.

So in case of disaster this place will be better than nothing but it won't be like what we had at Open Diary.

In honor of this piece of research and to celebrate the long weekend, here's a picture of Katie when she was a little little girl:

 photo babeinchair.jpg .


NorthernSeeker September 01, 2013

You've been learning some good things.

A cute little Katie. She looks a little dubious about her situation.

NorthernSeeker September 01, 2013

yes, you did add on to this entry.

Imagine the space that would be required if everyone imported their diaries to this site.

NorthernSeeker September 01, 2013

I like the way this site counts the unread notes. Something nice about seeing I have notes to read.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ September 01, 2013

I like that too. I added another paragraph about copying entries to new entries so then you could delete bad notes and keep ones you like. Or make people say things they didn't say... Oh god what a tangled web we weave when we have too much time on our hands.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ September 01, 2013

Too much time on our hands or actively avoiding what we should be doing.

Deleted user September 01, 2013

According to simple mind, an entry manager that will let you move entries between books is in the works. When that's available, you won't lose pictures when you move an entry.

I recall also hearing that notes will be deletable and editable.

Florentine September 02, 2013

Pretty girl! And I LOVE that wooden high chair. They don't really make 'em like that anymore!

woman in the moon Florentine ⋅ September 03, 2013

That was mine when I was a baby. I refinished it for my kids. My brother's kids used it - for a while. And then my grandchildren used it when they were here.

ConnieK September 02, 2013

Good stuff here. I liked the Secrets title...sort of like "Lies We Tell Ourselves".

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.