What Happened? in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 12, 2019, 10:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whoa, it is hot here. Like the weather everywhere else this is unusual. I don’t know why we are surprised; climate change is unfolding in real time and affecting us all.

This intense heat is only going to last another day or so and then it will subside into a more recognizable pattern but with a disconcerting lack of rain. Everyone is talking about wildfires and toxic air from smoke including my Senator.

Our other Senator, a Democrat voted for the odious and totally unqualified new Social Security Commissioner last week. I am wondering what is up with that. Generally I feel very lucky that both my Senator and Congressman represent my views in Congress even if they can’t do much but lay the groundwork for better days.

There is a traffic intersection here near where I work and live that is seriously problematic. A woman running a red light clipped our receptionist (a marvelous young person) with her mirror yesterday midday and then got mad at her for shouting and standing her (with the light) ground. The night before a car had turned left across the crosswalk, the third in a row against the red light in front of me.

I commented on this to the pedestrian standing beside me waiting for our light. He pulled his ear buds out and said that he was resigned to the fact that he was going to get seriously hurt crossing here.

I found the non-emergency safety reporting line for our city Department of Transportation and called and left a detailed message and asked for traffic cameras and or enforcement. Our receptionist was going to do the same.

There is this thing happening out there along with climate change, people are distracted, and are driving distracted and there is a sense of entitlement. You can see it when you stand and watch people in cars make decisions about crossing intersections, something as a professional pedestrian I do all day long. These things are all connected.

What happened to the idea of public service? What happened to the idea of public spaces? What happened to the concept that we are all in this together, that the rain falls indiscriminately and the fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes move through our communities randomly and the devastation is so often the luck of the draw?

Are these the exasperated reflections of every generation that turns towards the last act of their lives, curmudgeonly and conservative? It’s not these young people today I am concerned about though, they actually seem fine and aware of the hurdles they have been left to address selfishly by their rapacious, self–centered let’s have our fun and burn it all down elders.

I listened to a touching and affectionate interview with Ralph Nader and a young activist attorney that worked for him for a time the other night that gave me hope and helped me clarify where I might want to focus my attention once I get out from under this absurd work situation I am in.

They promoted Mr. On the Spectrum to Director recently. A position that no one who has previously held that position was allowed to move into based on the level of responsibility other managers in the organization are expected to deal with.

As my younger female colleague said yesterday, hey maybe they can now hire someone that reports to him that actually knows what they are doing and has the skill set to manage us!

This is about as likely to happen as having traffic cameras installed at the nearby dangerous intersection.

Mr. On the Spectrum did walk by me yesterday and say very formally, “Good Afternoon Noko”. This means in corporate speak that he knows that I have filed a formal complaint against him. (And of course he doesn’t call me Noko.)

Now the fun starts.

Not.


Last updated June 12, 2019


Lyn June 12, 2019

I wish you well with resolving the dangerous intersection and dealing with Mr. On the Spectrum.

That is a very interesting flower, what is it?

noko Lyn ⋅ June 12, 2019

It is a kind of poppy that usually grows in California. :) I can look it up if you need to know. I'd never seen it before I encountered it here a number of years back. Now I look for it to bloom each year.

Lyn noko ⋅ June 12, 2019

Thanks. No need to look it up, am happy to know is California poppy.

Ragdolls June 12, 2019

Whatever has happened to the rule that the pedestrian has the right of way?

I once had a car drive up onto a sidewalk and almost run me down. I felt it brush my clothes as I jumped out of the way.

Marg June 13, 2019

That's a very pretty poppy. I hadn't thought about the connection between climate change and the way people are nowadays but you're right of course. It all amounts to the same thing. I watched a very good Storyville documentary on BBC about the effects of climate change in the future from the point of view of someone looking back and not understanding why folk just let it happen. It was very well done. If you have BBC iPlayer it's called 'The Age Of Stupid'.

Zipster June 13, 2019

I am so with you? Where has civility gone? and graciousness? I am so happy I don't have to enter into the fray but on rare occasions. That they promoted Mr. On The Spectrum just says it all.

edna million June 19, 2019

That's really interesting, connecting climate change with the so-often horrible behavior people exhibit these days. You're probably onto something. Our weather is more of a nightmare all the time, and we're dealing with torrential downpours and flooding this past few weeks - which used to be quite rare, but now is just our normal weather. And everyone is cranky and mean. I nearly got hit - in my car - three times in one day recently by people running red lights. And not just as they were changing --- after they'd been changed long enough for my line of traffic to start through. And there are always students getting clipped by vehicles, although amazingly it's rarely serious.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.