material goods trap me in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • June 12, 2019, 7:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Years ago when my dad was alive he taught me when people push you away and act a fool is when they person needs you the most. My dad lost his temper one night got physically violent and chased me off with a gun. I took my car and left never to move back home. I did however talked to him for him to confess he got messed up on his medicines and had a psychiatric reaction. He admitted he didnt remember doing that.

After the dr fixed his medicine the last months of his life were my happiest with him. I forgave the past and found my daddy again. I started looking forward to visits. I really had a hopeful future for my family. When he died of his heart attack my husband saw me lay across my dad’s body begging him to come back. I cried over and over why did you leave me daddy Lord here i am crying on my phone trying to write this entry. As you can tell i use this diary as a form of therapy.

Yesterday I moved all my old things from storage with my friend Patch and her kids. I wanted to throw it all away automatically i felt trapt by these material goods because its a reminder how my life used to be. My mom is a hoarder she wouldnt let me throw anything away without her looking at it and a fight. My dad wanted to control how many bags went to the trash can. Things steadily piled up and i felt suffocated. When i started throwing things away with my dad while mom was at work it felt liberating. My dad and i would haul everything away before she could dig through. When i moved things were still in her house. she would cry and hold my things calling me begging me to move back in to the control and abuse. I refused for the first time in my life i lived alone trying to care for myself.

I married Talan giving myself away my family refused to attend. It is ok because i was told a long time ago as a child my family wouldnt be there i put waterproof mascara on and married at Octoberfest.

Today after work i am getting the fridge and microwave Jan gave to me and i will begin to unpack my past and move into my future better than ever.


Beret June 12, 2019

Getting rid of stuff is liberating and can cause one to feel less burdened.

Always Forgiven June 12, 2019

Yay for the new fridge and microwave. You’ll feel so much lighter having organized your stuff and gotten rid of what you don’t need/want.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.