landlocked lighthouse,fixed dryer,almost shooting,newish bed in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • June 10, 2019, 6:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My friends Scott, Patch and her kids help us by coming over to remodel. She found out due to my fathers death i created an affection to a towel that my father bought me when i was younger. This towel shows all the islands and lighthouses we visited on vacation. I often sit with it and cry when i miss my dad who died in December of a heart attack. Since dads death i have sat on this towel at my dad’s grave to cry. While i was cleaning the bedroom Patch snuck past me and stuck it up on the wall in the hallway. I turned on the light saw my dads towel and held Patch crying. I pointed at each lighthouse on the towel telling her about my childhood memories crying wishing my father could take me on vacation 1 last time.

I told Scott and Patch about the dryer and how i thought the lint caused the dryer to break because it is clogged. Patch with the help of her son Corey they tore apart the vent to discover it full of lint. They also sent me up the road with Alanna to get pizza by the time i came back the dryer was fixed! Somehow the belt got twisted in some way with junk stopping the heater from safely heating in the matter of minutes they took what i thought was impossible and fixed it. I got excited about the dryer being fixed thanking them repeatively. Perfect timing considering one of my 4 jealous kitties urinated on my clothes. They have been doing that since my friends been helping me remodel my mobile home. I bought order neutralizing Tide that works great with cat urine.

They helped us clean organize and while i was cleaning the bedroom they decorated the bathroom ocean themed to match the beach towel that my dad gave me. I got very sentimental. Here i am i swore i wouldnt cry i bawled. Patch and Scott suggested Talan and i go see Summersville Lake and Retreat lighthouse. This lighthouse was build in West Virginia as a joke in 2009. It is a landlocked lighthouse. You can go camping near by. If Talan and i had a honeymoon last October i wanted that to be our honeymoon sadly we couldnt afford it. Instead honeymoon we went back to work the next day. I hope maybe we can eventually go camping there.

Scott and Patch yesterday took our items we intended to throw away decided to burn it in their firepit. My stupid husband tossed some old bullets in the garbage not thinking. Gun shots fired out of the hot fire pit and their entire family doved under their car for their safety. Everyone survived yesterdays accidental shooting but my husband got an ear full today from Patch. Hey Talan no more bullets in the trash! Most of the time they like suprises that was not one of them!

Speaking of suprises Patch baked us a welcome home cake. She did a great job! Patch bought Harley and her kitten Ash a pop up kitty tent and bought our 4 fur babies cat toys. Coal was playing with toy mice attach cardboard when i tried to remove the toy mice from the cardboard Coal scratched me hard. I removed the toy mice threw the cardboard away and bled watching Coal and Ziggy tag team the cat toys.

Talan’s aunt Robin found out Scott and Patch built us a bed frame and she offered us a matress. After work we got to go to Meadowbridge West Virginia to pick up the matress.

Later on this week Scott and Patch going go to my Aunts to pick up my things from storage. I might throw most of it away. Scott and Patch asked if they can go through the stuff i have in storage see if they can remodel it to make a table for my kitchen. They only have good intentions for me so of course no problem!

Scott and Patch are talking about putting roofs over our porches. I am very willing to help them if they are so readily willing to improve our life. I am so grateful for them! I need to find a way to repay this kindness! Patch says for us to pay for dinner for them during weekends or cook keep the house clean so they can visit.

Talan has to get up at 5 am to be at work by 6. I work 12 pm-5 am. The next day i work 5 am to 12 pm. I hope our checks will be enough to pay the bills. God i am tired.. night


Last updated June 10, 2019


A Pedestrian Wandering June 10, 2019

What a wonderful day! So glad they did those nice things for you.

Lunchbox June 11, 2019

That is such an amazing thing. Your friends seem like such amazing people.

Always Forgiven June 11, 2019

Girl, this entry made me tear up, thinking of all the things they did to help you out the other day as well. You hang on to that couple. They are true friends. In turn for all their help part of your thank you will be you keeping the house clean and taking care of what they fixed. You have been blessed by them. ❤️

Kristi1971 June 16, 2019

Oh, my goodness, Girl, I love Scott and Patch!! What sweet and kind friends you have there. Those are true friends. I see you in them. When you help others, you are not looking for anything in return. You just want to help. They are the same way. Big hugs of delight for you!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.