Oppressed in Dreams

Revised: 06/09/2019 10:19 p.m.

  • Dec. 15, 2015, midnight
  • |
  • Public

The beginning was vague and I cannot quite pin it down. It seemed that things had been this way for a very long time. I was a girl-almost woman, old enough to know that things weren’t right. Society had taken a wrong turn somewhere, and the result was a totalitarian regime of military ruled labor force. The world was cold and dark inside the walls of society.
Yet control can never be absolutely complete. Akin to the theory of mathematical limits, it will slide closer and closer to complete without ever touching. I began to learn this slowly, and as I did, I woke up from the total monotony and automatic life that I had since been living. I had been just like everyone else. Yet as I learned of another way of living- another way of thinking that was outside the rigid standard set by society- I began to realize the uniqueness and dynamics of the person I was.
It wasn’t long before I started to seek others like myself; those that had freed at least their minds of this prison, if not their bodies. As soon as I looked, I was amazed at what I found.
There was indeed an underground resistance. As I dug into it, I found that the resistance was vast and complicated. Necessarily enough, for if the military rulers found it, it would be crushed in a moment. I discovered, quite by accident, that some of these resistant members had the peculiar quality of shape-shifting. Most of these (quite rare) people could change into one other form. But there was one who could change into a great number of different shapes. The exact number and forms that he could assume were not known by anyone, perhaps not even to himself.
To me this was the most astounding thing. I was amazed at the courage and ingenuity of these rebels; they were planning a full scale coupe against the government. They would launch a surprise, all-out war against their oppressors.


Last updated June 09, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.