Defining yourself - A Tutorial on Introspection in Life

  • June 6, 2019, 6:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gawd my titles are so pretentious. I’M so pretentious when I write. Or at least that’s how I feel. Anyway! On with the show.

Now that I’ve dealt with the big history lesson it’s time to get out he magnifying glass and take a closer look.

When it comes to defining myself in a tighter scope there’s a lot that I question. I once asked my friend “Who are you?” and after their immediate shock and horror that I had forgotten them I was all like “no no, I mean really think about it, when someone asks you ‘who are you’ what do you usually say?

And the short answer is a name and maybe our job description depending on the crowd (Hi my name is Da Bartender and I’m a career amateur at this thing called life - Hi Da Bartender says the crowd)

But when I, personally, go beyond that I really look at what I want to be my first impression, what really defined my life, what defines who I am?

Do I talk about my 12 year career in culinary that amounted to nothing
“Hi I’m a burnout, I’m a statistic!”

Do I talk about my current job? My relationships? My dysfunctions or my merits? Do I pander to what’s popular and tell people what I think they want to hear?

I don’t know. I’ve been asking myself all these questions for years. The only thing I know for certain is that the one thing that currently defines me, and my life is my daughter.

Eleanor-Mackenzie. The cutest freaking baby this side of the pond. Hell, maybe even the world.

Flashback

It was my 30th birthday, I was done getting a haircut because my buddy wanted to take me out for lunch. I thought it was odd because he never really wanted to get together outside of work but I was like “hey, this guy is cool why not see if I can develop a friendship and learn something”

When I say he was “cool” I mean he was what kept me alive and sane during the hardest days in the kitchen. He was the FoH Manager on nights when I was the BoH manager, We were a team but he was the boss. So when he said he had to stop by work and get something real quick I was like “okay that’s cool” but we went to the bar first to get a drink and on my way up to the bar I saw my Step-father and was like “Weird what’s he doing here? Hey! Step-dad!, the hell are you doing here?” I asked cluelessly as I came around the corner to about 20 people shouting “surprise!” A sweet idea by my then gf Rebecca but also, as someone with social anxiety it was terrifying, I don’t think I stopped shaking but it sure helped me get blackout drunk that day!

Regardless, on that day, my Nana pulled me aside and got a picture with me and said during the picture “Now that’s unconditional love right there, look at those smiles” and I felt so bad because at that time the only thing I was thinking was “Oh gawd this is awkward, okay smilllle” and she took that picture and cut it out so that it was only us. That was the last time I saw her in good health. She was later diagnosed with ovarian cancer and it was down hill from there. She took that picture with her to the hospice and it was on her bedside table when she died. I saw her the day before she died and everyone else had brought in pictures of themselves and put them on that table and blocked off our picture. I knew that would have pissed her off so when everyone left I took everyone’s picture and put it behind mine. The one she called “unconditional love” and all I wanted to do was get away… Excuse me while I go cry now, and by cry now I mean push all my emotions down so that my wife doesn’t see me be emotional because I’m a stubborn dummy.

Anyway. I have a daughter! I named her after my Nana and I know now what she meant by unconditional love. It wasn’t an easy lesson to learn but not all lessons are, and we never stop learning them.

It’s… daunting. Not being a father, I’m a natural and our baby is super chill. I think I’m the first parent ever to refer to Pat leave as “Free time” What’s daunting is the unconditional love. See, despite my checkered past in relationships, I wasn’t shown a lot of love by my parent so in turn I never really knew how to express love. I learned what love meant from 90’s pop culture which is really what created the Nice Guy(tm) so to have a daughter whom I love unconditionally is fucking terrifying. This little ball of flesh and spit is my world! and she can’t even wipe her own butt! (it’s so cute it jiggles just like her little face cheeks, she’s like a bowl full of jelly with big blue eyes, and spit. Lots of spit)

So while I’ve repressed/denied even having emotions for the better part of my existence I’ve suddenly encountered something that is bringing forth emotions just by looking at me and smiling, not even without talking. It’s so… primitive, it’s really quite stunning. But scary. All my trust issues, emotional issues, all my issues mean nothing to this baby. This fragile, hopeless baby that now defines my existence, that defines me.

Hi! I’m Da Bartender and I’m a new father, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Feeling: Introspective 🤔
Listening: Nothing! My dang headphones died!💢


DE_ChasingGummyBears June 06, 2019 (edited June 06, 2019)

Edited

❤❤ I don't think I even have anything to say besides how proud I am of you and how far you have come with yourself. Many moons ago you declared no one will love you/you will love no one and now look where you are!!!

DE_Da_Bartender DE_ChasingGummyBears ⋅ June 06, 2019

There's a part of me that's still waiting for the other shoe to drop and the dream to shatter because of that jaded past but for now I'm walking with the sun on my face so I'm enjoying it as much as I can. It means a lot to hear you say how proud you are of me :)))

Chelez June 06, 2019

Aww love the fatherhood feelings.

de_lockeduptight June 06, 2019 (edited June 06, 2019)

Edited

What a beautiful tribute and testimony of love from your nana.

I remember you fondly from DE. Crazy to think most of us have kids and families now and our lives look pretty far from what they did years ago.

I also think my titles and writing are pretentious haha or at least come across that way. I suppose that’s what writing is though, projecting what we want seen.

DE_Da_Bartender de_lockeduptight ⋅ June 06, 2019

" I suppose that’s what writing is though, projecting what we want seen.

That's a really good point. I'm glad we're doing this again, it feels familiar and I'm really enjoying it

DE_KentuckyGirl June 06, 2019

People just don't understand that kind of love until it happens to them!! Makes me wonder about parents who dont seem to have it. How?

DE_Da_Bartender DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 07, 2019

Yea I cannot understand those types of people but my mother never "bonded" with my brother and despite still playing the mother role, it's obvious that there's an emotional disconnect between them

Mercurial Muse June 07, 2019

I am currently pregnant with twins. And I still have a hard time imagining what unconditional love from/for a child will be like.

But this was a very sweet entry. Eleanor is lucky to have a data like you.

DE_Da_Bartender Mercurial Muse ⋅ June 07, 2019

Twins! So Lucky! We were expecting twins since it was in both sides of our family and we were after the skip generation.

Mercurial Muse DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 08, 2019

Ha. We were totally surprised it was twins. Identical twins do not run in our family and while these ones are most likely fraternal twins, it was still a shock. A double shock really. First I was shocked I was pregnant and then you could of knocked me over with a feather when the doctor told us it was twins.

Shannonly June 07, 2019

Nothing like the love of a grandparent. Unconditional and full of wisdom. I miss mine so much. Then there are children--you know you're a parent when emotions aren't controllable anymore. Wait until she starts school and you get the righteous anger when another kid does something awful. Kids give us raw emotions we didn't know we had.

DE_Da_Bartender Shannonly ⋅ June 07, 2019

Haha if I'm being completely honest that's currently my biggest concern. How I'm going to handle those situations. Hopefully I can lead by example. That's my goal anyway.

Shannonly DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 07, 2019

You will definitely know what to do when it happens. Trust self!

DE_fallenandhopeless June 07, 2019

Yes, the love for your child far surpasses any emotion in the world....amazing, isn't it? And it never, ever wavers. Let us always make them feel unconditional, and let us never fully become our parents. Amen.

DE_Da_Bartender DE_fallenandhopeless ⋅ June 07, 2019

hahah Amen.

Valued Customer June 07, 2019

I enjoy reading about your life. You have an interesting story and a fun way of conveying it. How did I never stumble upon your journal on DE!?

DE_Da_Bartender Valued Customer ⋅ June 07, 2019

I musta just slipped through the cracks. That and when I was writing on DE it held a much different purpose than it does now so it might not have been your flavour. I have a lot more perspective now than I did then.

DE_disenchanted June 07, 2019

Ahhh, those dang emotions! They sneak up on us every time ;) Can't bloody escape them.
I'm glad you're loving fatherhood.
Also this - "I wasn’t shown a lot of love by my parent so in turn I never really knew how to express love." - holy fuck did that resonate haha. I won't bore you with the story but I completely know what you mean by this.

DE_courtney. June 07, 2019

I read this with tears in my eyes.... because I'm feeling kind of sappy already today and I'm just so happy for you.... and because I can also relate. The unconditional love I have for my kids is just indescribable. I don't think I could ever fully articulate how much I love my kids. How much they've saved me, and how much they've shaped me emotionally (and physically, lol) too.

DE_Da_Bartender DE_courtney. ⋅ June 13, 2019

Isn't that the worst? You're feeling a little soft then some video or story pops up in your feed about a dad getting a present where the kid asks to get adopted or a Vet surprises their child/sibling at school and you're just like "Welp! I'm gonna go cry now!" And yea, there's no quantifying the unconditional love, it's just left me gobsmacked.

Deleted user June 08, 2019

Some grandmothers are angels :-) Congrats on your wonderful daughter !

DE_jamielynn June 08, 2019

As a new parent myself I completely understand what you mean. For the 1st time I feel like I have purpose & that my son is the one thing I'm doing right. I thought I didn't want kids but I'm so lucky to have him.
I love what you named her and the story behind it, it's beautiful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.