Introductions and all that jazz in Happy trails from DE

  • June 4, 2019, 2:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

First and foremost I’d like to acknowledge everyone’s hospitality towards my self and fellow DE kin. The kindness and acceptance is just such a breath of fresh air. Grieving over our old home while simultaneously hating change made me second guess starting new but you all made this such a pleasant, hopeful experience. So thank you all. Truly. 

I don’t know where to start with introductions. The very beginning? The middle? Who I am now? William h. Macy, I’ve been thinking about this all day. 

My name is julie. As previously stated i found digitalexpressions when i was an angsty teenager through some obscure search engine… probably jeeves or the likes. Now I am 34. Significantly less angsty and far less “fallen and hopeless” but my name will always remain. I wont get too into my details, hopefully my diary will be transferred to here and anyone willing can have a look around my old dusty boxes. 

I’m currently a mother of two beautiful kids, my mama bean (7) and my baby bear (17 months). I work full time at the same job I’ve had for 17 years (I told you, I dont like change) and I live a quiet life for the most part. The most excitement I usually get is managing my bipolar 1 and depression, otherwise you’ll find me scribbling in one of my many notebooks (I’m a collector, not a hoarder) or reading.

Reading is my passion. Any and all books, give them to me. Do you have a recommendation? Because I want to hear it. All genres, nothing is off limits, although i do love a good horror or a captivating true story. Last year i completed the pop sugar reading challenge and in between books hit all of my smut quotas. What? Dont judge me. The erotica breaks it all up nicely and keeps things exciting. When all was said and done I had read over 150 books in 2018 and was very proud of myself. Plus the reading challenge had me reading so many books outside of comfort zone I would have never read otherwise. 

Pro tip: thriftbooks.com have EVERYTHING you’re looking for and its dirt cheap. You’re welcome.

Books are one of the many things I collect, by the way. If something gives me pleasure I become obsessed to the point of bankruptcy. I have books every where in my house… on the many book shelves, my car, under the bed, the bathroom, the changing table.... and this is after I donated 300 to goodwill. Eh, maybe I’m a lunatic. God only knows.

My other passionate collections include makeup (I dont even want to talk about it), religious statues (I’m not religious), notebooks, and autographs (I get that from my dad, he was an autograph collector most of my life). I used to collect nail polish but gave that up....and I used to collect serial killers before I realized maybe writing to them in prison wasn’t the best idea. But I still have a huge box of letters in my closet that I will never get rid of. 

What else can I wow you with?

I’m a capricorn who isn’t particularly fond of long walks on the beach. I hate driving my car (his name is yoshi by the way). I’m a competitive napper. I have a chihuahua rat terrier mix named thor who is 9 years old. I’m planting a moon garden with flowers that only bloom in the dark. I walk on my toes exclusively and I dont know why. I’m obsessed with the 90s and usually only listen to music from that generation. I firmly believe the Reuben is sandwich royalty. I exist purely on coffee and menthol cigarettes. I will beat you in uno. I’m made of equal parts hello kitty and Stephen king and I figure out which one will be taking over every morning at 4am. I give sage advice that I dont follow. I love socks but I hate my feet. Peace is snuggling both of my babies in my bed right before sleep. We dont do it enough, however. Irl I’m a semi shy introvert, in my diary I’m too cool for school. And this year I WILL find more time to write. 

Did I leave anything out?

And ps.

I cant for the life of me figure out how to upload photos to this. Maybe because I’m on my phone? I’ll get the hang of this format eventually 

Pss. I never proofread. Management thanks you for not being my grammar nazi


DE_creatingsunsets June 04, 2019

I have to say I adore your writing style, it made me smile throughout your entry! 😊

I absolutely love reading, too. I read all genres, although I won't choose horror or crime over others (my imagination makes it way too real to me haha). I love fantasy, romance, smut (no judgment from me!), interesting non-fiction (not biographies), historical fiction, science fiction... basically anything that takes me to a completely new world where all of my issues and frustrations can't exist.

I'd love to be book buddies with you! ❤️

DE_fallenandhopeless DE_creatingsunsets ⋅ June 04, 2019

Awe thank you, I'm glad I made you smile!

And YES PLEASE to book buddies!!! I love everything you mentioned especially interesting nonfiction. Not too much biography, unless the person is really really intriguing. This is gunna come off way creepy but I like reading survivor stories, like high profile people who have been kidnapped or went through some serious buisness. I'm totally down for some reading with you!

DE_creatingsunsets DE_fallenandhopeless ⋅ June 05, 2019

Biographies are usually so boring to me! But actually, I just read one for my Grandma's book group (I love reading along with her so that we can write to each other about them, since she lives states away haha). Check out Trevor Noah's Born A Crime. It's an autobiography about his childhood growing up in South Africa during apartheid — he's so hilarious, and yet he's got some ridiculously thought-provoking statements sprinkled throughout it. My entire book is highlighted with great things he said! 😅

Deleted user June 04, 2019

I've been reading LT Ryan's "Noble" series. It sucked me in. I stumbled across it in Kindle unlimited and got addicted :)

DE_fallenandhopeless Deleted user ⋅ June 04, 2019

I will definitely look into it. Is it free? because double points for that! All my smut reading is of the free variety over on kindle unlimited 🤣

Deleted user DE_fallenandhopeless ⋅ June 04, 2019

Hmm not sure if it's free I pay the 9.99 a month to get all Kindle books free. It might be tho!

Deleted user June 04, 2019

Also I upload pics to imgur and use the HTML code to put pics in my entries!

Astra June 04, 2019

Hi Julie, welcome to PB :)

DE_fallenandhopeless Astra ⋅ June 04, 2019

Thank you, it's good to be here!

Just Molly June 04, 2019

I'm a DE transplant too. Have you found BookBub yet? I've mainly transitioned to reading via Kindle instead of physical books (takes up far less space and much easier to pack 5 books for vacation too, HAHA). They offer links to Amazon or Barnes and Noble where you can get digital books either for free or a vastly reduced cost. It also seems to be a platform where independent authors can get their books noticed and downloaded. I once got the Outlander series (Diana Gabaldon) for a $1. I'm a huge fan of the Outlander books and they are a worthy read if you haven't read them before.

DE_Da_Bartender June 04, 2019

Now that, is an introduction!

For books I recommend The Alchemist, my car's name is Bucket and although he's great, I try to drive as little as possible.

And I think we're all lunatics once you scratch the surface, just of varying degrees of intensity.

DE_*super lametastic* June 04, 2019

I am a book collector too. The older the book, the better. I have a copy of Uncle Tom's Cabin from 1896. If you want any history book recommendations, especially presidential and some full of smut ;), I am your gal. I love introducing others to some of the random books I read.
I am a Libra so you know, I like things balanced.

PickleMama June 05, 2019

Welcome! We have a lot in common...although I am that grammar Nazi everyone warned you about.

DE_fallenandhopeless PickleMama ⋅ June 05, 2019

Thank you! And I hope my journal doesn't make you cringe too hard with all the mistakes 🤣

DE_courtney. June 05, 2019

Competitive napper.... I think my 16 month old could challenge you in that competition.... boy likes to SLEEP!!! I can't complain on that one of course, that means mama can sleep sometimes too.

DE_disenchanted June 06, 2019

I loooove reading - I have so many recommendations!
One potentially obscure one is called Having a Lovely Time by Jenny Eclair. She's a British standup comedienne and her writing is pure gold if you enjoy British humour. Otherwise anything by Miriam Toews (she's a bit morbid!) but very observant and writes about some difficult subjects.

DE_jusjusndredre June 06, 2019

Such an interesting introduction. Out of curiosity, how many serial killers have written to you?

And I love to read too. All sorts of genres, but I have some recommendations.

To All The Boys I've Loved Before series by Jenny Han

Did I Mention I Love You series by Estelle Maskame

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Fallen series by Lauren Kate.

All realllllly good books I loved.

DE_fallenandhopeless DE_jusjusndredre ⋅ June 07, 2019

Somewhere between 6 to 8 serial killers, I don't remember exactly but it was quite a few
Thank you soooo much for the recommendations, I'm buying books this weekend and will pick up a few of these!

DE_jusjusndredre DE_fallenandhopeless ⋅ June 07, 2019

Damn! I would be too scared to receive a letter from a serial killer, but it also fascinates me that you have. Haha

But you're welcome, let me know which ones you end up buying. My favorite of the suggestions is probably the Did I Mention I Love You series. I was hooked immediately and read it twice. ❤️

^..^Kat June 11, 2019

Best intro entry I've read. I listen to books on CD during my hour-long commute each way to work. Most "reading" I've been able to do in a very long time.

DE_fallenandhopeless ^..^Kat ⋅ June 11, 2019

Thank you! I've always wanted to try audiobooks but I dont feel like I would enjoy them as much. Maybe I'll give it a try this year 🤷‍♀️

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.