Remodeling in A New House on a New Landscape

  • June 4, 2019, 1:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m carefully fiddling with settings, and examining all the twists and turns of the site. It is a very clean and practical interface, which is great. I love the thought of books separating topics, a great feature. Love even more that names can be changed in the account, which resolves the panicked feeling of not being able to come up with a good moniker in the wee hours of the morning. Have set aside space to import my old diary if I decide to, and when that ability becomes available. I think it’s amazing the amount of thought gone into this site and the old one.

The anxiety is beginning to recede. The grief is still there. Mostly the grief over diarists on DE which have passed away. They were close friends, and their journey through life was a privilege to witness. There’s a feeling that once the site finally is taken down, there will be a second death. Our friend Jean never had a Facebook profile, but our friend Patricia did. We hang on to that profile!

Over on Facebook, two of my friends who have been on the journey for so long just made me tear up–but we are fortunate and know it. If you are new to the diary community, let this entry be an informative little note: the people you choose to read will become your family in a way that no one outside of your real family will understand. They will come to know you 100%, and they will like you in spite of that. Through this realm, you will learn about friendship in a way no one could ever teach you. It has been quite an experience.

Now I’m off to continue the journey…


DE_KentuckyGirl June 04, 2019

I dont think I knew Jean (unless I know of her DE name but not real name) but I did know Patti. I enjoy re-reading her old entries. I did defriend her FB several months after her death because he mom has taken it over and was still posting and, well, I am funny about my privacy and it made me uncomfortable that someone I didht know has access to my life, and attached to my real name. So I let it go.

Shannonly DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ June 04, 2019

Free Association was Jean on DE. She passed in 2004 of Glioblastoma. Any time I see a headline or someone I know gets diagnosed with that particular brain tumor, I cringe and start crying. She was so brave.

Deleted user June 04, 2019

I totally agree with the feelings about a diary community

Shannonly Deleted user ⋅ June 04, 2019

I'm an advocate of it. After I get settled in, donations are happening.

Just Molly June 04, 2019

Home is where your family is. DE is a home to so many of us. Kind of feels like when my parents sold the house I grew up in. So many memories associated with that place. Saying goodbye is hard. I'm grateful that my family is all staying together and migrating to a new home. It may take a while to fully settle in but we'll get there.

Valued Customer Just Molly ⋅ June 04, 2019

Yes!

dammitangie Just Molly ⋅ July 12, 2019

Amen!

DE_Da_Bartender June 04, 2019

I never stopped to think about the lost who's memories will be lost to the void. I wonder if Alex would let you download them as a memorial or something to that effect.

DE_*super lametastic* June 04, 2019

The DE community has become closer to me than some of my actual family. I am so glad that we are migrating over and can still be apart of each other's lives.

DE_courtney. June 05, 2019

Home is where the heart is and I'm super grateful to be on this journey. The last several years, my diary entries were so spaced out. Write one entry on his day, and not again for another year. I think that I just had too much going on to keep up. However, I feel as though I've been given the push needed to get back into regularly writing. It helped me so much back then when my thoughts and my issues seemed as big as the universe (but really were just regarding school, some work, and minor family squalls). Now I have new thoughts and issues that still seem as big as the universe, but they are of a different variety and my universe has grown in size. I would always smile to see a comment from you on my very sporadic entries and it means the world to still be in touch with you and so many others. You are awesome, my friend.

DE_jusjusndredre July 03, 2019

I couldn't have said it better myself, DE really has become my second family. They've seen me at my best, worst, and most vulnerable times.

I remember Jean. I didn't know she passed away. That's so sad, but I now understand why I hadn't seen an update in so long. Maybe Alex can figure out a way to import her diary here? It's sad to think once the site is gone, their words will be too.

Shannonly DE_jusjusndredre ⋅ July 04, 2019

we are blessed to have been part of all of this, I believe. A unique realm!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.