Forward in A New House on a New Landscape

  • June 4, 2019, 6:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Most books begin with a title page, a page of information on publishing/legal stuff, the copyright, and perhaps a dedication page which means little to the reader. Anticipated books sometimes contain a forward page. The forward is typically written by a recognizable name to the public. The purpose is to provide a glimpse into the content of the book by a reliable person who might know the author personally. I suspect half of overall readers skip the forward and dive right into the story.

The journalist has no forward. A diarist (as I prefer to be called) does not come with a recommendation. This is the first step toward finding the kindred souls on an open but anonymous setting like this one. Words are your forward. Introduction is a burden borne by the writer, though it is often not considered necessary.

If I were to write my own forward, it would be short. There is nothing spectacular about me. My achievements in life matter to me, and on a world scale mean nothing. This suits me, as I prefer to see things from the cheap seats, and to remain behind the scenes writing the content while the pretty people deliver the lines. I thrive on intelligence, and find it sexy.

What I know and what actions I take are the problem. I get lost in life. I require sharp reality checks, when really I knew how things would end up. I am halfway through life, I hope. Hope because none of us know how much time we have, but all of us know how much time we have spent chasing after the unobtainable things we imagined. Our hearts never do what our minds tell them to do. Our souls are not governed by us, either, though we can damage them.

There’s a reason why all these components are independent and act on their own accord: each has their own viewpoint and understanding. When they’re in sync, it is a golden feeling. You can’t force them together, that causes the disasters we spend time writing about. Not all disasters are negative, most are certainly not positive, but all teach us exactly what we need to know at the time.

Welcome to my documented disasters. I work hard on them.


Deleted user June 04, 2019

I like your style of writing.

Welcome.

Shannonly Deleted user ⋅ June 04, 2019

Thank you for a wonderful and welcoming comment, FLH

Just Molly June 04, 2019

Amen, Shannon. Very well written. Welcome to our new home. <3

Shannonly Just Molly ⋅ June 04, 2019

It's starting to feel like home :)

Valued Customer June 04, 2019

Yay it's you :-) Happy to be starting this new chapter with all of my favorites by my side.

Shannonly Valued Customer ⋅ June 04, 2019

::smoochie faces::

DE_Da_Bartender June 04, 2019

That paints a heck of a picture. I look forward to reading more from you, I feel like I'm going to learn a lot.

Shannonly DE_Da_Bartender ⋅ June 04, 2019

I may unintentionally disappoint you, but welcome aboard!

DE_courtney. June 05, 2019

So excited to be starting anew with you and all of the rest of my long-time buds. <3 <3

Shannonly DE_courtney. ⋅ June 05, 2019

Amen to that!

DE---Mr. Stix June 07, 2019

Hi Shannon! This is a sort of blast from the past! I look forward to reading your thoughts again!

Shannonly DE---Mr. Stix ⋅ June 07, 2019

Yay! You're here, Jim! Good to see you!!

DE_jusjusndredre July 03, 2019

Gosh, I love the way you wrote your first entry. I'm a little late to the party because I can't seem to catch up. Haha But I am looking forward to reading more! 😊

Shannonly DE_jusjusndredre ⋅ July 04, 2019

Aw, thank you--the beauty of the diary world is catching up whenever the time allows. I am trying to write regularly again, which so far seems to be happening :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.