A big welcome to the DE community in Site Updates

  • June 4, 2019, 8:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey everyone,

As you may have noticed, we have several new people that have joined over the past day or so with “DE_” in their name. These are members of a seventeen year old (!) diary community called Digital Expressions. This morning, the admin of DE posted an update informing everyone that he was shutting things down. Word quickly spread amongst the community, and a Facebook group was started by a group of passionate users to try and figure out what to do next.

Sound familiar? Well, then you probably know what happened next..

I saw a few entries on the PB front page with the unique usernames and did some homework, eventually tracking down the announcement. I posted a reply offering my assistance, and the admin (siliconwafer, go say hi!) quickly replied. I was also invited to the Facebook group where I let everyone know what was going on. As I’m sure you can all imagine, they were VERY RELIEVED.

That said, this isn’t a post about how I’m now the proud owner of not one but two diary communities. That would be.. a lot. Instead, we’ve decided that the best course of action is to collaborate and build a utility that will allow DE users to import their old entries into PB. I’m hoping that this will allow the users to preserve their history and help PB feel more like home.

In the meantime, let’s extend a warm welcome to the new group. I’m happy you’re all here, and I’m pleased PB can be a safe place for you to keep writing and connecting. I hope you make some new friends here.

Oh, and most importantly! Allow me to introduce you to the official PB mascot, Mochi:
alt text

<3,
-J


Last updated June 04, 2019


Walking Crow June 04, 2019

Hahaha! This is awesome :) I hope everyone's diary ends up safely imported when it can all be sorted.
All hail Mochi!

GypsyWynd June 04, 2019

You're a good man.

Phoenix Seraph June 04, 2019

Thank you for being such a kind, giving soul.

Welcome to all DE community members! We hope you find a safe and happy home here on PB. ^_^

DEviantdeva June 04, 2019

I’m excited to get back in the groove of writing after digital expressions 😍!

Kristi1971 June 04, 2019

Welcome to the DE Community members!

Deleted user June 04, 2019

Thank you!!!

summertime sadness. June 04, 2019

Welcome, and enjoy the Mochi!

DE_Da_Bartender June 04, 2019

Thank you so much for the warm welcome and helping our community integrate into yours. To put a silver lining on all of this, it seems like a lot of people have been inspired to pick up the keyboard once again and re-connect with friends old and new!

Parallax. June 04, 2019

Welcome, new people! It's pretty great here ^_^

thesunnyabyss June 04, 2019

welcome DE members!!!

DE_fallenandhopeless June 04, 2019

Thank you so much! I'm looking forward to our new home and writing my first entry!

Anaiss June 04, 2019

Welcome to everyone! Most of my entries are friends only but I do have some public ones up there, mostly for the purpose of meeting new people, so drop me a line if you'd like to be friends! Ok that's kind of dorky. Drop me a line if you'd like to get to know me via my diary and allow me to get to know you.

DE_jusjusndredre June 04, 2019

Thank you for the warm welcome, Josh! And thank you for doing whatever it takes to import our entries over here, so we can continue on like nothing has changed. We really appreciate all of the effort! I'm excited to see where this all takes us and I'm glad to find a new place we'll call home!

DE_jamielynn June 04, 2019

Thank you:)

Deleted user June 04, 2019

DE was where I spent the bulk of my blogging hours in my 20's after becoming disenchanted with OD - I owe Alex a lot for providing a space for me to bitch about my life in those days. Sad that the site is closing down, but I'm glad we're here to welcome the members of the community to our own corner of the online realm.

DE_jar of hearts June 04, 2019 (edited June 04, 2019)

Edited

I'm very relieved to have a place to go after digital expressions.
Mochi is SO cute!
Thanks for the welcome!

EchoSeven June 04, 2019 (edited June 04, 2019)

Edited

Now this is why PB is freaking amazing. THANK YOU SO MUCH for reaching out to them and I really hope they find a good place here.

kmh. June 04, 2019

Welcome, DE members :) Happy to have you here and look forward to getting to know you!

colour of water June 04, 2019

Welcome, DE people! This is a great place and Josh really is a hero. He saved this site recently and is super friendly (as you can see) so you know you're safe here :) Enjoy!

simple mind June 04, 2019

So cool! Hi DE people!

pskettios June 04, 2019

Hello and welcome to Prosebox!

lessoff June 04, 2019

We are so happy to have you here.

Echo June 04, 2019

Welcome, welcome!

love, squeezebox. June 04, 2019

Welcome to the new DE peeps :)

DE_greyskies83 June 04, 2019

Thank you for taking us in :)

ACloudyMorning June 04, 2019

That’s amazing that their entries will be backed up. You can’t put a price on old journal entries. Especially ones from so long ago. 🖤 Welcome, DE friends.

Leanne 🌈 June 04, 2019

To the peeps of DE ..... Welcome to PB. :)

NorthernSeeker June 04, 2019

This all sounds very familiar...back to the days of OD's demise. Well, the first iteration of OD anyway. I'm sure the DE gang are glad to have the soft landing.

DE_KentuckyGirl June 04, 2019

Wow everyone here has been so welcoming!! Thanks guys! It's good to feel welcome. And thanks, Josh, for taking in us soon-to-be-homeless DE'ers!! Looking forward to making new friends here at our new home. And thank you so much for the effort to import our many years worth of entries!

DE_courtney. June 04, 2019

Thanks so much for welcoming us with open arms! :)

BlueEyes418 June 04, 2019 (edited June 04, 2019)

Edited

As someone who showed up here after OD shut down, I hope that the DE community finds PB as wonderful as I do. Well done, Josh. That was very compassionate of you. ❤️

FitLadyDi June 04, 2019

Welcome DE members!

Amaryllis June 04, 2019

Yay! More people!

ladyc June 04, 2019

welcome (:

Mystery June 04, 2019

I was wondering what all the DE's were about. Welcome! Now let's hope PB is forever. Sure, there are some features I wouldn't mind seeing added here but I LOVE this site! They will too. :)

Just Angie June 04, 2019

Thank you! From DE diary Basicgenius

DE_basicgenius Just Angie ⋅ June 04, 2019

Changed it to fit in lol

DE_disenchanted June 04, 2019

This is so nice! Thanks everyone for the warm welcome. I've been re-inspired to kickstart the journal addiction...

Marg June 04, 2019

A very warm welcome DE people! I think you'll love it here :)

I need tea. June 04, 2019

Welcome xxx

Witchy Woman June 04, 2019

Welcome DE peeps!

Thank you Josh! You're F*ing awesome! A life saver, a hero, a great guy!

Give mochi kisses!

•kitkat• June 04, 2019

Welcome DE members!

Jeanine June 04, 2019

WELCOME! You're going to like it here!

Firebabe June 04, 2019

The army grows! BUWUAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

I mean, greetings fellow prose wranglers! C'mon in, there's room for everyone! The drinks never stop flowing and the bouncy castle is always open! Mochi is a benign overlord who mainly looks adorable and writes the crack code that keeps this place humming along. I'm not sure what Josh does. I think he brings Mochi treats, and scratches his belly, which, as any overlord will tell you, is essential to the running of your own dominion.

At any rate, Welcome and Enjoy!

DE_karabeara Firebabe ⋅ June 05, 2019

haha!! what a great welcome, thanks :) :)

DE_Nicole27G June 04, 2019

Thank you. Thank you <3 it's super sad to see DE go :(

DE_karabeara June 05, 2019 (edited June 05, 2019)

Edited

Oh Hi, Mochi!! As you will soon find out, my Brussels Griffon "Lex" (also known as Alexander the Great and/or Lex Luthor/Wex Woofer) makes an appearance in just about every single one of my entries. No big deal, he's just a minor Instagram influencer ;-)
THANK YOU for the warm welcome to our little DE community!!! Excited to be here.

velvet June 05, 2019

Yay!!! Welcome to prosebox, everyone :)

DE_*super lametastic* June 05, 2019

You guys are all amazing! Thanks for the warm welcome!

Park Row Fallout June 05, 2019

Josh: You're proving once again why this community was lucky to find you to save PB in the first place. Instead of simply "accepting new members" you're actively working with their community to preserve what they had and integrate them into this community. You're going above and beyond what any of us would have expected or hoped and we're very grateful for all of your hard work and passion!

Adira June 05, 2019

Mochi is awesome! And his owner is possibly even better :)

Welcome, DE peeps!

J.E. June 05, 2019

DE? Don't you mean OD?
😀

Deleted user June 05, 2019 (edited June 05, 2019)

Edited

Welcome all from DE !!! We are glad to have you ! Great work, Josh !

M June 05, 2019

Is Mochi a hound from hell?

KissOfLife! June 05, 2019

Welcome DE'ers! I know the feeling from when OD originally shut down, and was welcomed here at PB! Hope you guys and girls feel at home :)

Valued Customer June 05, 2019

Happy to be here!

Just Molly June 05, 2019

Thank you for reaching out to us lost souls. Looking forward to being part of your community!

JennyAmi June 05, 2019

Thank you!! Thank you for giving us a chance to preserve our memories!

DE_blueyedgirl June 05, 2019

Thank you ♡

Silverstar46 June 05, 2019

Welcome everyone! You're gonna love it here. :)

Fawkes Gal June 05, 2019

Aww, how thoughtful! And also, welcome everyone! Also, DOGGY! <3

Chelez June 06, 2019

As a former De'r (yes thats a word) thank you and I am excited about the new endeavor!

DE_heretic1982 June 06, 2019

Thank you for being welcoming and giving me a place to continue my rambling tangents.

EvequeFou June 06, 2019

I'm happy to see them rescued. Welcome to our lifeboat!

patrisha June 06, 2019

Welcome to all the DE people. You will like it here!

crystal butterfly June 06, 2019

I hope it is a smooth transition for them.

Raphael Tiriel June 06, 2019

Welcome to all!

Nin June 06, 2019

Welcome all, all are welcomed!! Is there such a thing as a digital peace prize? If not, there should be and you, sir, would win it!!!
Mochi, squishy, squishy, and a belly rub.

Squidobarnez June 07, 2019

Welcome DE-ers!!!

this place is an amazing refuge for all of us who've been expressing ourselves through words on a screen for our entire adult lives.

thank you.

DimMeOut June 07, 2019

So awesome. It's always nice to be able to work together to help others!! Writing is a therapeutic practice for so many, so it's important to have a place like PB to call "home".

AnOrangeZebra June 09, 2019

Extremely cool! Thanks for the good news!

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm June 09, 2019

i know the feeling of needing a place to write. prosebox was that lifejacket for me when open diary went away. welcome. you'll like it here. take care,

DE_xgcsriotgurlx June 10, 2019

It's a pleasure to be here with you all!! Thank you for having us. :)

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes June 11, 2019

I so wish that could have happened with Open Diary, but the timing was all off.

So congratulations and welcome all you De'ers.

Enjoy the community!

de_ladywriter Exhumed By Scrying Eyes ⋅ June 11, 2019

Wow, OpenDiary, that takes me back!

Exhumed By Scrying Eyes de_ladywriter ⋅ June 12, 2019

Yes! I was on there A LOT! But when entries stopped saving, the got hacked multiple times, I literally lost several thousand notes... I just couldn't take it anymore, then it died. I know they're back now, but pay only, yeah, I'm not doing that, they can't replace all I've lost. A lovely era though, I miss it.

janeanger June 13, 2019

Hello and welcome, DE folks!

[This feels funny for me to type, as I am originally from Delaware, so "DE," to me, always means home. Nonetheless! Welcome!]

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.