A Dog's Life in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 1, 2019, 8:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This morning. Will you look at that blue blue sky? Mrs. Sherlock is back and we wanted to not do anything too taxing but not too easy either. We took Frida out to the most fancy dog run in the area. I have mentioned before that Frida seems to think I am an honorary dog. Last time we took her I stood outside the wood fencing and she kept coming over to me and not running around. We finally gave up.

Today I hid behind a couple of SUVs in the parking area but Mrs. Sherlock called out that she was focusing on where I was. I am afraid of big dogs, it is a thing I have never been able to control very well but there were only a handsome (scary) boxer and a husky mix in there and I decided what the heck. I went through the double gates and started running. It is a super nice dog park, a great place for folks to not only run their dogs but hang out with them and picnic and sit in the shade and…

It all worked out, I was a little nervous when we were leaving when some new dogs came in, but the thing about dogs is that as long as their humans do not need protecting they are much much more interested in each other. Frida had a better time on our hike after because she had run.

And I got to hear all about the 9-day Colorado River rafting trip. Mrs. Sherlock is 70 and she is tough but she said it was a lot of work and there was sand everywhere the whole trip. They had to set up their own tents and slept on cots and peed in the river. And they zip lined back to the two boats. She is glad she did it, it was beautiful and thrilling and absolutely the last time she will do anything like that again.

They own some property that has hugely appreciated over the almost 50 years they have had it and a friend of theirs had a 1/4th stake in it. He died while she was gone and his family is being difficult about it. They need to redo their wills, the trust and hire a real estate attorney. I don’t envy them the effort but this stuff needs to be done.

Last night a family of raccoons had a party on my patio. They managed to get the lid off the tube feeder I have up with millet and finch food, something that takes reach, balance and hands as I have it hanging on a rod iron loop thing well off the railing. They turned over the bird bath and knocked over the catnip plant.

Oh well, I needed to clean the feeder anyway.

I put some of the catnip in a small bag and Kes put it in her purse and promptly forgot it was there…

But Henry, her young handsome cat boy noticed right away when she put her purse on the counter when they got home.

Although I am a little tired I am actually feeling way better. Talking things through helps so much as does the gorgeous weather, very unusual for us this time of year.

And tomorrow I have a free day to do my homework and cook and work on my classes for this coming week.

Yesterday some of the folks in the labs upstairs were having a retirement party for a colleague and they decorated the conference room I taught in with this undersea theme that was cheerful and clever.

Just as I was finishing the rest period, with people lying flat on the floor with their eyes closed someone opened the door and placed a huge cake on the table. I just worked it into the meditation. It made me laugh.

It is heart warming that they valued their retiring coworker enough to put in all that effort to give her a happy well thought out affectionate send off.

It reassured me to know that not all the areas in my soon to be former workplace are dysfunctional.


Last updated June 01, 2019


Lyn June 01, 2019

I love how you are always able to see the positive.

Frida has excellent taste in friends.

woman in the moon June 01, 2019

Have you posted a picture of Frida? I realized she likes t maintain her privacy but I'd like to see her sometime.
Dogs are fascinating. And can be scary. I worry when I see pictures of dogs close to human babies. They have the capacity to do so much damage.

Ragdolls June 01, 2019

I got bit several times when I was a child. All dogs scare me!

Marg June 02, 2019

Aw I'm just imagining Frida frolicking around with you in the dog run! You were very brave there - big dogs can be scary when you have reason to be unsure around them.
And I was laughing at the spectral figure armed with cake suddenly appearing in the middle of meditation - kudos for working it in! :)

Brakeshoe Bob June 03, 2019

Big Dog.. I have Moose the rescue Lab.. What a joy he has become. You talk about big dogs and a Boxer in your post. Here is something funny. I was about 10 years old. We went to see my late uncle Paul and aunt Doris. The had a huge Boxer...Tawny. Tawny was gonna tear you limb from limb. I was always scared. Here comes Tawny grabs my arm. I am dead. Doris says.."don't be scared of Tawny, Bobby, he aint got no teeth". What you remember

noko Brakeshoe Bob ⋅ June 03, 2019

For some reason Labs and Retrievers (such smart dogs) are exempted from my fear list. Love this story. I don't think i'd ever forget something like that.

Zipster June 03, 2019

I admire that you can find any shred of positivity in your workplace; I'm only sorry it isn't so in your own particular situation. Where dogs are concerned, try to remember that they read your nervousness but don't necessarily understand that it is related to them, they just think you are up to something. Own your space, they respect that.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.