Walking (Being Walked) in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 29, 2019, 8:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the neighborhood we go walking in for our “easy walks” there is a big house converted into a community center that has this lovely back garden and a path one can walk through. Mrs. Sherlock took a group over there a few months back and someone knew about this so now we add it into our walks. This trellis arch is back there. I enjoy getting to know the gardens and the gardeners. Mrs. Sherlock always says hello.

She is still off on her Grand Canyon adventure and Mr. Sherlock and his car living friend getting chemo appear to be fending for themselves. I am on call as she is out of cell phone range on the river with her phone packed in plastic back at base camp. She’ll be home late Friday or Saturday morning.

Things in my world have been quiet and restful. I had a lovely but shorter than normal visit with Kes and Most Honorable on Sunday. Amtrak tightened the window on the buses I was taking after I made the reservation. But we had a good time.

I spent the holiday roasting vegetables and catching up on yoga world gossip and resting and working on my Meditation Teacher course. They had the manual available online and the hard copy came yesterday. There is a lot of practicum. I’ll be practicing on anyone who volunteers.

My women’s circle friends were great when I was going through yoga teacher training but I think I have enough students that some will volunteer to be practiced on.

Work? Bleh. I received the email from the director of the AAEO department a week ago Monday saying that our HR rep would be in touch about my formal complaint but that he was out for a few days. I know he was back Friday because he had a meeting scheduled in a conference room I sometimes use.

The young woman who talked to me a week ago called in sick yesterday. I am not surprised.

Yesterday I reached out to all the people on the director’s email saying I hadn’t heard from anyone and asking that if another woman filed a formal complaint would that change the calculation.

The HR guy was right on that. He set up a half hour meeting with me on this coming Friday after I teach yoga. So I file a formal complaint about discrimination and I have to basically wait two full weeks for any investigation?

Boy do I feel valued. Not.

Not that I am counting but it I don’t get laid off at the end of June I have 56 more weeks of this crap.

Oh and to place a cherry on top, I have a meeting scheduled today with Mr. On the Spectrum and Motorcycle Man. Wish me strength and good sense to get through that.

Most Honorable’s sister is here for a conference so they are going to come up Friday to take her to dinner. They will stop by and I will have a chance to debrief.

I heard about this app yesterday that offers People Walkers, so you know you can hire a dog walker, this app lets you find someone close by that has had a background check and is interesting and available to walk with you. I might try it if it isn’t prohibitively expensive but what I am thinking is that I might hire myself out for that.

This is so great for older folk who are isolated through no fault of their own and need to move but don’t want to do it alone. An artist in L.A. who was frustrated seeing people out and about with noise cancelling headphones on and not interacting with their environment at all started it. Social interaction has been proven to stave off dementia and I am all for that.

But in the meantime, deep breaths as I head out into my day.


Last updated May 31, 2019


Zipster May 29, 2019

Don't allow Mr. On the Spectrum and MM to rattle you; this has been a long time coming. I do hope another woman will complain because they can't just ignore it, although I suspect they will try. I get frustrated with dog walkers who wear headphones-be present with your animal, it's important to pack behaviour!

noko Zipster ⋅ May 29, 2019

Thanks. Oh I agree about dog walkers. There is a woman in my neighborhood that walks her two dogs very fast and for about a year she wore headphones but then she stopped and she notices other people and says hello. I had this urge to welcome her back. :)

Lyn May 29, 2019

Wishing you strength. I know you have good sense. Be well.

Ragdolls May 29, 2019

That trellis arch is beautiful. Wish you lived nearby so I could have a walking partner.

Marg May 30, 2019

Glad you had a restful, relaxing weekend to psyche you up for the coming stress! That trellis is really beautiful. So is this walking scheme something you have to pay for?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.