Dark Days in Negative Nancy

  • May 14, 2019, 9:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took a Ancestry DNA test in April so I could make some progress on some of my dead ends in my family tree. For a long time I thought the man who raised me was not my biological father, but my mom always said he was. Probably in my 50\s I started believing he was. We both had the same medical conditions and the same temper. Well the DNA results came back showing no paternal matches and a woman who it said was a close relative either half sister, aunt or grandparent. We made contact and we are half sisters. Bio dad has been dead since 1977 and he was a convicted rapist. We had one ½ brother who died in 2009 and another ½ brother who has been in and out of prison his adult life.

I am not doing well with this news. I don’t want to get out of bed in the morning. Making my production at work is difficult and I’m making errors as I am having a hard time concentrating. I cry throughout the day and end up trying to numb my feelings by eating until I am miserable. I have started seeing a therapist and one of the things he suggested was journaling so here I am back with Prowse Box.


ODSago May 14, 2019

It must have been crushing news, but you are your own person. Did you have a loving home? Were your parents in that home admirable and caring? Then you have broken any cycle that could be passed down, and you can be proud of that, I'd say.

Squidobarnez May 16, 2019

ditto to the two previous notes.

huggles-of-uber-supportive-squish

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.