Lilacs, Complaints and Deep Nourishing Rest in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 14, 2019, 8:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the lilac garden a few days ago back when we were having our brief warm dry sandal-wearing interlude. Now we are into a period of much needed rain and cooler temperatures. For those with breathing issues this is a good thing, finally tamping down the better part of the particulate matter in the air. Though it is going to take a day or so to get there.

I am going to start working on my formal complaint tomorrow as I will be working from home most of the day except for a midday meeting with the ‘boys”, which I secretly have my fingers crossed will get canceled. Working on my own in the office now makes me realize how uncomfortable I have been the last six months.

On Thursday I am seeing the career counselor again.

Last Friday I went to the “drop in” clinic for hearing aids and even though I was 10 minutes earlier than the posted start time the receptionist told me I would have to wait over an hour because there were people ahead of me. I am like…hold on, what?

Then I had to sign this form that said I was willing to pay between $250 and $400 for repairs if they were to be sent in. I knew I was okay because I have a two-year warranty on mine and all this is covered under that but still…

I guess the deal is…only people with resources are able to get the help they need to hear. That must be why my Kansas tough as nails farmer’s wife aunt who lived until she was 98 at home was deaf and lived a quiet life. (We need Medicare for all that includes hearing, vision and dental.)

Also, I had been cutting back on baked goods and comfort foods because one of my goals that I may or may not make for my 65th birthday in 5 weeks is to get to a “normal” weight by the charts. I only have a little over 3 lbs. to go. But the more sensible eating was making me irritable.

When I finally saw the technician she was absolutely wonderful. The culprit was earwax; it gets in under the caps that cover the amplifier deals. She says 85% of the hearing aids with problems she works with are because of this and that I could bring them in anytime to have them cleaned. We got the Bluetooth all set up again and I was off hearing well and with my mood significantly improved.

Next week my online certificate course in iRest begins. I am doing the assigned reading now and I have a CD to listen to with six guided practices and another optional book on PTSD to read before then.

And I have another 3-hour in person teacher training workshop on Sunday afternoon about “Teaching from the Heart”.

The underlying principles of this iRest training is deeply spiritual and I am most interested in how that gets translated into a secular program that is accessible to folks of all faiths and belief systems.

Last night the only person who showed up for my yoga class was Mrs. Sherlock. She had been on a bit of a challenging hike earlier so I took her through a complete physical practice and we friend chatted through it.

She doesn’t have a spiritual grounding or belief system other than a deep faith in the obligations we inherently have for our fellow humans as we all suffer at one time or another. She is caring, generous, and deeply compassionate and I was able to encourage her as she took herself into a deep relaxation.

It was pretty funny, we were on the floor with the lights out in this big church multi-purpose room and neither of us was much inclined to move though I was sitting up. So I know I can get her (and all of my students if I have a few tries) to relax.

It will be interesting to see if I can take that into a deeper level of healing.

It is an exciting prospect to look forward to.

But first I need to tackle that complaint and eat more fruits and vegetables.


Last updated May 15, 2019


Lyn May 14, 2019

I am jealous of your lilac garden.

Enjoy all the delicious fruits and vegetables available this time of year.

Marg May 15, 2019

I have never been more grateful for our national health service (even though it's crumbling round our ears at the moment) since I've been on here and keep reading about all those medical expenses you have to put up with!
You and Mrs. Sherlock have such a lovely friendship :)

janeanger May 15, 2019

That picture is sooooo gorgeous.

Zipster May 16, 2019

I feel badly that you have to write a complaint. I sometimes think that the processes victimize victims all over again. I will be glad when you are able to be out of such a negative environment. I'm with Mrs. Sherlock, no belief system in place. And so often these days their is this religious snobbery going on that IMHO has no place in any sort of compassionate religion.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.