HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY in Postcards 4

  • May 12, 2019, 11:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Happy Mother’s Day to you. George considers it a Hallmark holiday. I ignore it since I consider myself one of the world’s worst mothers.

There were a lot of mother’s like me in the sixties. In this time before birth control, I never wanted kids. I’d never held a baby. I couldn’t stand the crying. Literally. I smoked…once burning Margot on the face. I drank…once driving away with Paul and forgetting both kids tucked in bed at home. I hit them both; Paul beat them. I did drugs. Paul did more drugs.

This day I beat them both to the phone to say Happy Mother’s day. Margot called me back to say that she’d never had such a happy voice to wake up to. I’ll take that.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Boring Business Meeting tonight. Taking me to my favorite book store today.

  • Myself: Himself is taking me to “Mysterious Galaxy” this morning. I’ve made a list of the twenty or so new books I just have to have. LOL

  • Photo: Mine.

  • Reading: Finished with all 7 Harry Potters.

  • Gratitude’s: The beautiful green outside. Sunshine peeking out, George. My kids.


toddslife May 12, 2019

Happy Mother’s Day

woman in the moon May 12, 2019

I wasn't a very good mother either. And I'm still not. It's not a big part of my identity.
Quiet day here.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ May 12, 2019

It sort of is here. My kids needed me once I got sober.

NorthernSeeker May 14, 2019

I ignored the day as much as possible. The weather was beautiful and we were outside taking photos.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.