Off to the doc's in Stuff

Revised: 05/07/2019 6:44 a.m.

  • May 7, 2019, 2:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke up this morning feeling pretty amazing, the fresh air coming in through my window and the sun had barely even risen. I felt like I might be okay.
Unfortunately that didn’t last long. I was actually waiting until I needed to use the bathroom, in the hopes that I would use it normally, but alas, no. I feel like the Imodium has gone right through me each time. I’ve now used up half of the 6 tablets, and bought a second lot today, as well as some Hydrolite tablets. My lips, fingers and even feet feel extremely dry, so I’m assuming that’s probably a side-effect of dehydration, even though I swear when I pee’d yesterday, it was clear. I guess I have been drinking a lot of water.
So I went to book into the doctor for tomorrow, and was surprised to see there was still an appointment available for 2:50pm today, which is in about 3.5 hours time (There must have been a cancellation). I have to go back to my old suburb to see this doctor but he bulk bills, which will save me the $75 minus Medicare rebate. And given I’ve blown that much on medication the part two days, I’ll justify it. Although a big part of me is wondering if it’s worth it potentially shitting my pants over. I just went down to Woolies before and that’s just up the road and I was wondering if I was going to make it.
The last few times I’ve seen this doctor, it’s always been for a cough I couldn’t get rid of, and he’s pretty much dismissed me. I feel like if I can’t have gotten rid of this on my own and it’s almost been a week, I need some professional help.
Something’s seriously wrong. It’s Day 6 and I’m amazed I have anything left inside of me. I’m hoping the doc will send me away for some blood tests, although who knows if that’ll show anything. I mean, are shit and blood connected? Oh God, what a gross thing to write. Maybe I have bowel cancer! Maybe this is just a really nasty bug. At least my stools aren’t coming out red. I’ve been very conscious of that happening, given how frequently it’s been fucking happening. I don’t know HOW I haven’t lost any weight. I still look bloated when I see myself in the mirror. Not attractive at all. I figure I’ll catch the bus or the train into the city. No way I’m risking walking. I hope the doctor has a bathroom there lol.

Edit: I’m back from the docs!

As soon as I said what was wrong, he goes, “You’re the second in 5 minutes”, so the guy before me must have the same thing. Anyway, I was in and out in like 3 minutes, as things tend to be with that doctor. When I told him I’d started taking Imodium last night, he goes, “Oooo you really shouldn’t be taking that.”
Umm, that’s what it says it’s for!? LOL, I guess the doc knows best. He also told me I haven’t been drinking enough Hydralite. He said water was a waste of time and to drink at least 1 litre of Hydralite a day, so I picked up two bottles along with the prescription he gave me. So now I’m ditching the Imodium (that was a waste of money buying the second packet this morning) and am now on prescription medication, Metrogyl 400 (so it says). 21 tablets to take three times a day with food. That’ll be interesting, considering food just goes right through me. The doc did ask if I needed a medical certificate but when I said I had tomorrow off work, he said I should be fine and this should be gone in a few days. I fucking-well hope so. This has been torture! I’ve been too scared to even hop in the lift with other people! Anyway, off to take my new drugs, like the junkie I am these days.


Last updated May 07, 2019


TL May 07, 2019

I had nothing better to do so I looked up your symptoms. Looks like you might be pregnant.

KissOfLife! TL ⋅ May 07, 2019

LOL! I hope it's a girl!

crunchie TL ⋅ May 07, 2019

Haha im sorry Matt but this is the funniest 😂

TL crunchie ⋅ May 07, 2019

So what was it? Do you have booty cancer?

KissOfLife! TL ⋅ May 08, 2019

You were right. I'm 3 months preggers.

crunchie May 07, 2019

If it makes you feel any better I have had gastro for 7 days before so still potentially a bug. Your doctor might make you do some stool samples ekkk I don’t know what’s worse, having the shits or having to catch and collect it lol

Palmtreesandzebras May 07, 2019

Sounds like you have what my husband has. He is something colitis and a round of steroids usually helps solve the issue, but he lost 25 lbs in 3 months and couldn't eat anything, no appetite ect. According to the Dr. though it never goes away, but you can awhile between symptoms.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.