Not what I asked for but okay in Dream Journal

  • May 6, 2019, 5:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The last couple of weeks my erratic sleep patterns have become even more odd than usual, a few nights of feeling like I did not sleep at all followed by one or two nights of decent sleep.
Last night was the first night I remember dreaming. I had a dream earlier in the night but all I remember was that is was aggressive, like watching a screen with most of the audio censored. While I was coming in and out of sleep, I determined that I was just going to sleep through my alarm and suffer tomorrow when I have to wake up. So I woke up at 7:30, turned off my alarm, and went back to bed. And that’s when I had another dream.
I was downtown with some friends. We must have been inside a restaurant or store of some kind and I decided to go back to the car, probably needing some air. I remember sitting there with the thought that they would meet me in the car and we would do whatever it is we were gonna do. The street was pretty narrow and there was another car full of people I didn’t know too well across it. I was sat there on my phone when the other car finally got my attention. They were watching a video of racing and were saying something about how I got left behind. For some reason, I had the thought that my friends were going to drive around the block from wherever they were to meet me, so there must have been three cars. I took my phone and opened snapchat and made use of the map to see if any of my friends were sharing their locations. What I saw was a little truck with firey exhaust icon zooming around the edge of the river that goes through my city and stopping up a little bit away from where we were before driving around downtown, bordering the river, and stopping again. I asked the other car what that was and they called it “Chain Smoking”.
I don’t remember if the next part was the same night or the next but some people I didn’t know very well took me to this high area just off the river. Thinking back, it must’ve been the next night since it looked like the sun was just starting to go down and it was late the previous day. On the way, someone must have explained the night’s events as some sort of race. I asked why it was called chain smoking as we pulled up to this spot, and when we got out of the car, they pulled out a pile of fireworks. They explained that you affix two fireworks, one wide and the other narrow, to the back of your vehicle as you race to create that plume of smoke behind you. I heard someone say “it’s starting over there” and looked across the river to see the smoke. Everyone was so excited with their phones in hand capturing the scene. I thought it was quite pretty, the sunset and the smoke, and this area had trees boarding the street and led down to the river. The street we drove up on was pretty humble, only about one car wide with trampled grass, from parked cars. It had a fork, the left side looking the same and curving off and around the cliff edge we were on. The right side continued straight, then met what looked like a freeway ramp. It was one of those that was a really tight left turn with a tall wall on the right side so that cars wouldn’t fall into the river. There practically wasn’t any earth beneath the ramp and it seemed very out of place. I couldn’t see where it lead to or what the path it might follow would look like. As we all shuffled around in anticipation, a couple of the boys I was with started getting the fireworks ready while some of the girls insisted on showing me “the best place to watch”. We walked towards the river, down the hill that met the side of the road, through some tall grass until we met a fence. One of the girls got herself on top of the fence and they told me that if I stayed on the other side I would be able to get the best view. I hopped the fence, although there was apparently a gate, and found myself with my feet in some mud/shallow water. The first vehicle geared up. It was the front of a semi-truck driven by an older guy who seemed pretty experienced. He started on the main road a few yards down and “put the pedal to the metal” and went top speed at the ramp. He couldn’t quite get the turn, his vehicle tipping and crashing into the wall. I gasped, of course, but was surprised by the lack of worry. I saw him crawl out of the car and he seemed mostly okay, just a bit rattled. Somehow, I don’t remember this part, the path was cleared and more cars went. The one other vehicle I remember was a school bus full of kids, which crashed an caught fire. Where I was standing, I could see clothes turning from colorful and patterned to black through the back window of the bus. I nearly vomited. I decided that I had to get out of there. I looked behind me, but it was just more swampy land before the river. So I went to go climb the fence. I think the assumption was that my feet would get sucked under and I wouldn’t be able to climb by myself. But I managed to at least attempt. I remember being so worried about my friends, hoping that they just turned off their phones. They weren’t so stupid that they would try playing their game? Right?
Whenever I dream, and think about those dreams, I add things to make the story make sense. As I was waking up, I had this image of a guy filming as he was racing, looking scared but also murmuring about the money. Some sort of illegal racing where people can win money by putting their lives at risk. This makes the bus seem more logical, maybe there was a bigger prize for a bigger risk. And this was all organized on snapchat, with some sort of hack that showed where the races were happening and let people share their videos and pics of the event. It was awful but an interesting idea for a story. Maybe my friends took to the river, destroying their phones in the process. Maybe they were in a car. Maybe they were all at home getting ready to go to bed.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.