Imodium to the rescue, hopefully in Stuff

  • May 6, 2019, 6:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m now on day 5 of being ‘sick’ with this nasty bug. Jesus, it’s been a struggle, y’all! (How’s my ‘murican accent?)
My head’s all over the place, even more so than usual, if that was even possible. And today was a public holiday, meaning everything was shut, and by the time I got to the chemist, I realized that they had actually been open, but closed at 5pm, and I’d gotten there about 5:20pm. Doh.
Luckily, I went to the trusty BP at the end of my street (the same one I used to go to from the other direction when I lived in this suburb 15 years ago, but it was all run-down then, and now it’s all nice-looking). My interaction with the lady behind the counter was the only human contact I’d had all day, and she was happy and chirpy - very much the opposite of me this past week. I’ve been a moody bitch from hell. Phil has barely even been home, probably avoiding me I assume. I told him I was sick whilst he was in Sydney, and now that I’m convinced what i have is gastro-from-hell, I’m kinda glad he’s off having fun, whilst I wallow in misery with my thoughts confined to my bedroom.
I did lay on the floor in the lounge for a little bit today. It was actually a beautiful sunny warm day outside, the day’s I normally absolutely love about living in Brisbane, and the sun was just in the right spot to be high enough and to the side of the other building for the sunlight to come streaming in perfectly. I laid my fluffy blanket down on the tiles and propped my head on one of the gay cushions and just laid there, breathing, trying to calm myself down, telling myself that the small dose of Vitamin D would be good for me.
I didn’t stay down too long. I couldn’t anyway. Nature kept calling. I think I counted about 4 or 5 times today.
I’d managed to pick up some imodium from the BP (initially the point of my chemist visit). They didn’t have any hydrolite (I can’t expect a servo to really) so I opted for some sugar-free Powerades instead, which I’ve been sipping on. I also bought two bananas (another okay food) and my total came to like $23 (ouch, servo prices). I’ve barely eaten anything again today, other than some old crackers I found in the pantry. Google says crackers are okay, but then by tonight I was absolutely starving and I reheated a tiny bit more of my UberEats meal from last night. To think I’m getting three-meals out of a one-person meal is crazy. Normally I’d have demolished it in one sitting, but I’m having to be very gentle on my stomach.
The dosage for the Imodium is initially 2 tablets and then 1 tablet after every soft-stool occurance (gross), but I’ve only been game to take 1 initially. I’ve never taken them before and I need to find out how my body reacts to it. The last thing I need is to not be able to shit at all, lol. I figure I’ll take one as I need it. It says not to take more than 8 per day, and there’s only 6 in the packet anyway. I just hope it makes me feel better more than anything. I’m feeling more depressed and self-conscious as the days pass. My mind is telling me things like Phil doesn’t like me and thinks I’m a boring housemate even when I’m not destroying toilets. It’s just how I am. I wish I knew how to naturally be more interesting, but I just don’t and I think I’ve just accepted that.
Then I watched a show on Stan called ‘Sex, drugs and bingo - the UK’s wildest pensioners’ and I wished I had the attitudes of these 80-90yo+ women even when I’m less than half their age. Bless.
Although that’s probably made me feel even more useless now, so it wasn’t the best show to watch but hey it took my mind off me for a while.
The reheated dinner I just ate seems to be settling okay for now. Maybe the Imodium has helped stop my stomach from grumbling. It’s small victories for now. I still feel hungry actually, so maybe I should reheat the last of it? The last thing I need is to let that go off and then actually get food poisoning. Wouldn’t that be just fucked?

I disinfected my keyboard, laptop, phone screen, all the taps in the house and the fridge door today, but now my laptop seems to be acting weird and opening up windows when I didn’t ask it to, so you’ll probably see typos. Oh well, at least it’s clean. I’m just trying to be conscious of washing hands and anything I’ve touched, you know.

Jay-Jay messaged me on Facebook to ask how I am. He’s such a sweety. I told him what was going on and he immediately asked if I wanted him to bring over chicken soup. It was sweet, but no, not what I need right now. And I don’t wanna make that sweet boy sick. It turns out he’s moved though! So he lives nearby now and just doesn’t have furniture yet. His old room-mates sounded insane. Like they actually had set up an ‘Apple Pay’ in the kitchen and whenever someone borrowed something like salt or whatever, you were expected to swipe your card. I shit you not!
Ergh, I should not use terms like that right now.
Anyway, he asked how I was with putting furniture together, as he’s wanting to Ikea his new place. I’m not very good at it but I said I’d help, but not right now cos I’m not well. He said he’ll probably be getting it at the end of next week.

Matt’s messaging me again on Facebook. He’s the only person who messages me with ‘horny?’ on Facebook. I hate to tell him it’s not the right place to be asking. If I was horny, I’d be on Grindr, wouldn’t I?
Anyway, I’m still ignoring him, ever since his calling-me-on-every-platform outburst. Today I clicked on the message so he could see I’d left him on read. Then he called me ‘Rude’.
Yeah, so I am. I’m way too sick to even be bothered with ‘horny?’ messages right about now.


TL May 06, 2019

Get well soon. Good luck with that Matt character. He sounds annoying, I don't keep people like that around... but I'm a bad person lol

Swanny May 06, 2019

Hope you feel better soon.

crunchie May 07, 2019

Hope there’s some improvement

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.