Found it! in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 26, 2019, 3:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On the LEFT side, page 444, of Fawn Brodie’s Jefferson book:

“Men by their constitutions are naturally divided into two particular parties:
1. Those who fear and distrust the people, and wish to draw all powers from them into the hands of the higher classes.
2. Those who identify themselves with the people, have confidence in them, cherish and consider them as the most honest and safe, although not the most wise depository of public interests.”

From a letter written by Thomas Jefferson when he was 80 to Henry Lee.

At 80 he was advocating direct election of the president and age limits on judges.


Last updated April 26, 2019


Park Row Fallout April 26, 2019

That is good and explains why I am such a political anomaly. My job gives me excellent examples of why to fear and distrust the people... but that goes for all people from impoverished tramp to CEO... so I tend to want the power to go to the people at large because if nobody can be trusted, everybody should be.

gattaca April 27, 2019

There seems to be no in-between, does there?

woman in the moon gattaca ⋅ April 27, 2019

Never was a middle of the road.

MageB April 27, 2019

That was interesting,.

Beret April 29, 2019

Sounds about right and still relevant/true.

woman in the moon Beret ⋅ April 30, 2019

I assume you've been to Monticello? He was a very complex man living a very complex life. Brilliant but blind to many things.

Beret woman in the moon ⋅ May 01, 2019

I have but it's been quite awhile ago. It would be worth visiting again. I'm certain my perspective on issues have changed.

NorthernSeeker April 30, 2019

The older I get the more I fall into the second group.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.