Quandaries in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 25, 2019, 7:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Iris! Exciting. These from yesterday evening are a bit battered and in an unkempt bed (kind of how I feel, which is why I chose this picture).

Everything that can bloom is blooming and as much as I love it, and I do love it, the pollen load is almost incapacitating. I am so tired.

The cats appear to be well. And! This is a big and… we have had some expression lately of at will feeding. Because they were so traumatized as young cats having to fend for themselves and not getting regular food they have been all this time I have lived with them crazy nutcases about food. They will eat whatever is out for them.

Now for the first time ever they are expressing particular food likes and dislikes (as has every other cat I have ever known) and if I put dry food out they might not eat it all at once or at the same time. They are freely eating out of each other’s bowls. I hope this trend lasts. Living with two active feline food maniacs can be a tad tiring now and then. Carlo is expressing a specific preference for a particular kind of wet food and Diego a preference for a particular kind of dry food. Wow.

I filled out a survey today for an umbrella professional association for yoga teachers and one of the questions was about the composition of one’s household and I was delighted that one of the answers available was single with pets. Don’t think that will be on the 2020 census.

Mrs. Sherlock texted me yesterday to say she couldn’t come to class. She said she was having a bad week but did not elaborate. I am going over for the day on Saturday and will find out then.

They have a friend; I met him on Christmas, who is incredibly bright but basically indigent. He does odd jobs, window washing, that sort of thing. He gets along really well with Mr. Sherlock. He is in his mid sixties, I think almost my age. A few weeks ago he was diagnosed with a major tumor in an uncomfortable place. He was able to get on the Oregon Health Plan and is scheduled to have surgery after four weeks of intense uncomfortable radiation.

He told Mrs. Sherlock his doctor told him it was okay for him to live in his car during the treatment.

!?! What the heck???

They only have one bathroom and Mr. Sherlock after his illness this last year needs access to it. There has got to be a way to get their friend into some sort of housing. He is convinced he is going to die in his car or on the street. It is so sad and thorny and challenging. Heartbreaking. He is a nice guy and he deserves dignity no matter what poor choices and circumstances have placed him in this difficult predicament.

I had a meeting with Mr. On the Spectrum and Motorcycle Man yesterday at work. First time I have spoken to either of them in two weeks. They are thick as thieves. I did not blurt out something angry or stupid so that is good and at least this week I did not get any indication of an impending layoff.

I also set up a referral for sessions with a professional outside career counselor. She is on vacation this week but we will set something up for May. I go back and forth about filing a formal complaint every few hours. I am getting some clarity on what exactly it is I want so that is a step in the right direction. But this whole thing is agonizing.

If I am able to stay after June 30th for a final year I am in need of a project. Something I can work on by myself as more and more actual real work gets pulled from me. The memoir I promised Mr. Finch? Poetry, my local history project?

It has to be something focused and contained. I usually move around and try things when I am doing yoga continuing education and I have a whole bunch of that. Not really good for focus with interruptions when random real work comes in. And I think if I sharpened my colored pencils and started in on the Yoga Anatomy Coloring Book I got yesterday someone might notice and comment. The Evil Empire is still extant even if it is in a diminished form.

I’ll figure something out. In the meantime tomorrow is Friday and Saturday I will be able to find out what is going on with my friends and Sunday I have a local live three hour teacher training workshop with someone I admire and the cats are well. The cats are well!


Last updated April 25, 2019


Lyn April 25, 2019

Love the pic and your great attitude.

Ear skritches to the cats. 😺

woman in the moon April 25, 2019

Mother Teresa collected the dying from the streets of Calcutta and took care of them. True, a legend - both.
Did you find out about a job in another department? I need to read back.
So sorry the ends of various types of life have to be hard.
You bloom though, like the iris at the top of the page.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ April 26, 2019

I was notified that I am not being considered for another job at this time. I will keep applying for things but am not hopeful.

Marg April 29, 2019

Great news on the cats - good sign for sure :)
That's dreadful about Mrs. Sherlock's friend - how can any self-respecting doctor think a car is a suitable place of recovery?!
I hope all is well with Mrs. S.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.