30 days... in Everyday Musings of a Very Tired Mama

  • April 16, 2019, 6:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

…school days that is until Pickle is no longer a Kindergartener! (did I spell that right?). Freaking crazy. For 6 weeks over the summer he’ll be in Summer Bridge for a 1/2 day. Summer Bridge is what we used to know as Summer School. It’s mostly for kids who need extra help and I think he’s okay, but I think all kids can benefit from it so they don’t get out of the learning habit over the summer. That leaves us with 4 more weeks to cover, because there is no way on God’s green Earth that he is staying home with me for the whole day for weeks at a time. Most summer camps are waitlisted at this point. I am thinking about one week at the Y and a few days here and there at We Rock the Spectrum, where he usually does camp during school breaks. This is the first year I am experiencing summer vacation, so I didn’t know that camps fill up so fast. Lord help me.
Speaking of Pickle, he turned 6 on April 2nd. His party was that Saturday. We had a great turnout, had lots of fun, lots of pizza and lots of cake. He is already asking how many days till his next birthday.
He also lost another tooth a couple weeks ago, but we were broke (still are, haha) so I told him the Tooth Fairy was really backed up with other kids who had lost teeth. Now I think he’s forgotten about it, but I’ll make sure she visits this weekend.
The medication he is on is working wonders. His behavior is like night and day. There is that point in the afternoon when it wears off and he is prone to being very emotional. I try to get his other medication into him before that happens, but then it puts him to sleep too early. It’s trial and error, for sure.
Friday, Pickle is off school and a new friend (who has 3 kids) and I are planning on taking everyone to the splash park. We took him and Boo on Sunday. It was Boo’s first time and she loved it.
I started the 5 week internet research project with my repeat client. After two weeks he had to put it on hold because he hasn’t been able to do the next step with the information I have compiled. That was 2 weeks ago and is almost 1/2 of my current income. I am about to ask for a higher pay for the website I am writing content for. The real estate articles are going well. That client committed to 5 articles and I am turning in article #4 tomorrow. He doesn’t give a lot of feedback, but what he has said is positive. And I continue to bid on other projects–haven’t gotten any bites though. It’s either feast or famine.
Speaking of the real estate article, I’m not even halfway done, so I gotta get at it.


Pies on a Carousel April 17, 2019

At first I thought maybe you were sending him to a camp to learn how to play bridge. And there totally should be camps like that. I'd be a much better card player.

PickleMama Pies on a Carousel ⋅ April 18, 2019

hahaha, I could use some additional instruction myself!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.