What I want.... in Secrets from myself

  • Feb. 21, 2014, 6:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to be competent.

I don't want to be the best, I just want to be good enough.

Sounds simple.... but it's not.

%%^#^^^^

I suppose I'm talking about work. I suppose that's obvious.

I'm too lazy to make oatmeal this morning. I warmed up yesterday's coffee.

One more day.


Deleted user February 21, 2014

Oh, new jobs. I hate that feeling of not knowing what other people do effortlessly. One day I might tell you about the car mirror factory. That was a hideous job. I was hopeless PLUS it was a hideous job. I didn't figure the second out for years, because I was too focussed on the first. I find muesli as hearty, but not as warming.

Darcy0207 from OD February 21, 2014

It's a down moment. I am sure losing jobs for one reason or another chips away at one's sense of self.
Get out into the sun... when it rises. You may need some "me" time.

Beret February 21, 2014

You're still fairly new at the job? Give it some time. I cannot imagine you not being competent. You'll settle in and get your confidence. And today's Friday!

Just Annie February 21, 2014

I think you're very hard on yourself. Give yourself time.

gattaca February 21, 2014

I am competent, but as I get older, I'm losing coordination. Competency without coordination is very frustrating. Give it a bit of time; competency is learned.
Klutziness is forever. ;-)

Brakeshoe Bob February 22, 2014

Remember the great words of wisdom, from a dumb old rail. "you weren't born with a lantern and a switch key in your hand" meaning ... you have to learn the job. could be familiar, could be not even similar, many variable, many different things. It will come, be patient.

RoseS February 23, 2014

I heat up yesterday's coffee, too. It isn't lazy, its just not being wasteful.
I've always considered you far more than competent!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.