12 hours work= no pay? in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • April 9, 2019, 6:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Holly knew we dont have much money to pay bills due to the bank overdrafting us. She offered to pay me for cleaning her house to help me get rent money. For 12 hours i did dishes, seperated clothes, clean Livingroom, change diapers, feed kids, i help carry in a sectional, rock a baby to sleep, help with homework.. Can you guess what i got paid? Not a damn penny! I should have asked for it in advance! Imagine my irritation if i wanted to clean a house for free i would have stayed home!

Holly and Kevin wanted me to be paid $100 a month to live in their house be sister wife to their kids. They even offered me to share their king size bed if i want. All i have to do is give up my mobile home, leave my husband, never see my cats again. Hold up! I like cats more than 99% of all people i know! I am not willing to risk that.

Holly did give me diet pills, cbd drops, opportunity to take their old couches and a life lesson i will never forget. No thanks next time i am unavailable to tend to your house and kids i have paint i need to watch dry.

That was my day off i could have stayed home clean my house for free. I feel so stupid. I dont have the heart to tell my husband 12 hours of hard work i did for free.

Holly wants me to start tutoring her daughter. Taylor might have difficulty learning but i learned my lesson. I hate when people manipulates me!

I got tp work April 9th 5-10. At i can confirms Ollies Outlet pays me! God knows Holly didnt.


Beret April 09, 2019

That’s awful. I’d be done with Holly. Thief.

Kristi1971 April 09, 2019 (edited April 09, 2019)

Edited

Yep. No more Holly after stealing your time. Time is our most precious commodity in life. We all have the same amount of hours in a day. The clock keeps ticking them along, so how we use them is of utmost importance. She stole your time.

I will add this - she gave you something important, too. The life lesson. We all make mistakes. None of us are perfect. No one is exempt from life mistakes. So don't beat yourself up over it too much. Learn the lesson and well - today is a new day! Hugs.

Lunchbox April 09, 2019

That's pretty terrible. The going rate for house keeping where I live is $15 an hour. Your friend owes you at least $180! She totally took advantage of you and your situation.

And that was rude as hell to offer you $100 a month to be a full time live in nanny. That amount of money is an insult.

Deleted user April 09, 2019 (edited April 09, 2019)

Edited

I agree with other commenters, $100/month is not even close to enough for a live-in nanny. On average, the weekly salary alone is about $650, so she would need to pay you at least $2600 a month. I can't believe a functioning human being would offer $100 a month.

Anaiss April 09, 2019

For Christmas my daughter had her house cleaner come clean my house. I was so impressed I asked what she would charge to come do it once a month. I have an 835 SF one-bedroom condo. It was already picked up, no dishes to be done, etc., just needed sheets changed, dusting, vacuuming, Swiffering, cleaning the bathroom, etc. They also wiped down everything in the refrigerator, and the kitchen cabinets. I don't think it took two of them more than two hours and the cost is $120. So you REALLY got ripped off big time by Holly. How did she explain not paying you?

mysterymelody Anaiss ⋅ April 09, 2019

I can come back to take care of her kids and she might pay me later but she can pay $800 for the sectional i struggled to help get in the house

Always Forgiven April 09, 2019

What a ripoff. How sad. It’s people like her who make a person not trust other people who ARE trustworthy. Sad that she took advantage of you like that. She’s not a true friend.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.