Cat tracks on the counter... in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 4, 2019, 8:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

  1. I no longer play solitaire. I got to Genius level and decided that was far enough. Though.... a person does wonder what comes after Genius.

  2. I just learned that ironic quotes around words, like now that I’m a ‘genius’, are called scare quotes. It always bother me, ‘genius’ that I am, to discover I didn’t know something. Are you familiar with the term? If so how long have you known about it?

  3. Joana was coming down today to do laundry but it coincides with Eli’s meeting at Gus and Tony’s to talk (and listen, he promised) about Ms Warren. Maybe Joana can come down tomorrow instead.

  4. We have three white-faced black calves and one that’s all black.

  5. Last year’s calves should sell soon and then I will have some money.

  6. I’m almost to the end of Rich Man, Poor Man. I had to quit because something bad was going to happen. I may read backwards from the end so I can skip the bad part.

  7. Snow is gone, still no rain. Water is high along the Mississippi but no flooding here. My yard is a mess. Lots of cow tracks. Lots of Gracie detritus. Not sure when I’ll be in the mood to do anything about it. No flowers showing up… that I’ve seen.

  8. I have to write something for Sunday. Am thinking about the time we sold PIK corn in Crystal Lake IL and saw the movie ‘Terms of Endearment’.

  9. I bought Jim two pair of $17 dollar socks and he really likes them. They came from Duluth Outfitters in the old Doerflingers building in Lacrosse.

  10. Two tractors are in town - one getting new back tires (and a new rim) and the other is having its wheels moved in or out - I’m never sure what’s going on.


Marg April 06, 2019

Today Solitaire Genius level. Tomorrow the world! :)
I'd never heard of scare quotes either - wonder why they're called that?

noko April 06, 2019

Glad you don't have flooding. These are things to be grateful for lately.

NorthernSeeker April 06, 2019

You are pretty darn smart at a lot of things so I'm not surprised to find out you are a genius at something. It's nice that your snow is gone (finally). There is still snow in our old home back north.

Serin April 07, 2019

Any fan of loony toons knows the answer to number one. Suuuuupergenius. :)

And I'm too used to learning things other people know that I don't. Scare quotes i like though. They are satisfyingly parallel. I put scarecrows in fields and 'scare quotes' in sentences.

'boo'

:)

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 08, 2019

Just realized scare quotes must be children of air quotes. Put your fingers up and wiggle them.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.