This sucks in Just Jane

  • Feb. 20, 2014, 2:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I havent had strep throat since I was a kid. Man, I forgot how painful it is. It started Monday night. Today I went to the doctor where I tested positive. Starting antibiotics this evening. For the next 48 hours I can't give Declan any sloppy kisses or really love on him, and thats the worse part of it. He said he could give me a note to be out of work for the rest of today and tomorrow, but I don't want to use my vacation/sick time for that. I've been dragging myself to work all week--I figure another day and a half won't kill me. I told my co-workers to feel free to treat me like a leper for the rest of the week so they don't get sick.

So what's new? I think Declan might have said his first word last night, which was "cat". Homer was sitting on the coffee table and Declan was petting her and smiling and I swear he said it plain as day. But I can't be sure! I thought defining moments like this would be more clear cut, but turns out they're really not.

Declan will be 11 months on March 2nd. I don't know where the time has gone. We took him to a big park on Sunday after church. We had a picnic and then we all laid out on a big blanket afterwards. He was good about staying on the blanket (getting close enough to rake his fingers through the dirt/grass/leaves) and playing with us and his random toys. Fresh air is so good for you--we need to start doing it more often.

He continues to be the world's happiest and most chilled out baby and he's sleeping better for the most part. His middle of the night waking times are all over the place and occasionally he'll sleep through, but for the most part he's doing well. Ryan and I take shifts overnight. We've always done this and it works well for us. I go to bed around 9pm (ideally) and Ryan is responsible for him until 1/1:30 am. Then its me for the rest of the night. Ryan usually sleeps until 7am and Declan usually has me up by 6. Last night he slept from 7:30pm-5:45am which is really really good. He has dropped his morning nap at daycare and takes a decent nap after lunch. On the weekends though, it's really hard (usually impossible) to get him to nap at all.

I leave you with a random pet peeve/WTF: Playtex tampons. They have this type (I think it's the Sport kind) and it's got random inspirational sayings on the wrappers. Some examples include "Go Team!", "If at first you don't succeed, try again" and "Life is a marathon. Keep running." Blows my mind.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.