Treacherous, Self-Interested, Heartless Cads in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 2, 2019, 8:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the view from the dining area of the Manor House and gardens we visited Saturday. I want to plant myself here in this beautiful light filled place with the view of Mt. Hood there in the distance. (You can just see the top through the clouds.) If you walk to the edge of the garden there is a cliff and a view of the river. There are some train tracks down there and a bunch of modern homes owned by, you know, basketball players and the like.

Wish me luck. I am returning to the office tomorrow after having found out sort of accidentally, no one told me, that Motorcycle Man (formerly know as Saint Joe) has been promoted three grades and now makes more money than me. I am assuming that is why he feels comfortable buying a house and a new SUV. More power to him.

Asshole.

Yes I said it.

I also called the Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity department and spent a half hour talking to a lovely attorney who may come to my yoga class. She thinks I have a case. Now I need to make a really hard decision about filing a complaint and how formal to make it.

She says if I do file a complaint they can’t eliminate my position unless they can prove that they have been planning on doing it for a time.

Retaliation is not allowed.

But it does mean I need to share an office (and most of a job) with a person to whom I am not speaking and who is most certainly not speaking to me.

It is only two days in there and then I work at home Friday and have next week off.

The test results came back negative for parasites and common bacterial infections for the cats and I received a truly lovely email from the vet saying that her best guess is that they have a virus and will run it’s course. Today is the first day in a week where Carlo hasn’t shown any signs of obvious illness. The cats have been all over me! They are both right here now keeping an eye on me.

Wish them luck.

The seasonal allergies are pretty intense as everything is bursting into bloom. This is the first year in, gosh, about seven where I haven’t been taking a regular oral antihistamine everyday. They wanted me to stop because of my heart disease. There is this sort of draggy overwhelmed tired feeling that my body is interpreting as not a very happy person with herself.

I hate my growing out hair, I hate my weight, I hate my clothes, I hate my teaching style and I most definitely hate the part of my job that involves these treacherous heartless self-interested cads.

Not that I am having feelings or anything.

I need to feel valued. The attorney helped. My students are a wonder and help a lot as does Kes and Mrs. Sherlock and the therapist I talk to and text now and then.

More time with good people with good kind hearts is what is needed here.

That and more time spent in stunning gardens racing around puddles with crazy cheerful poodle friends. I hope I can make it so.


Last updated April 02, 2019


Lyn April 02, 2019

Sending you peace and strength to deal with the work situation.

So glad the boys are recovering! 😸

Marg April 03, 2019

I hope so too and I'm glad you have the means and the people to do so! What a bunch of tossers (my autocorrect changed that to toddlers - maybe I should've have left it!!) you work with - I don't know how they can sleep at night. So glad you might be able to make a case and have spoken to someone who can help with that but don't envy you that process one bit!
All good wishes for C and D as they get over that horrible virus - it must have shaken them up a bit.
Can you imagine having breakfast in that dining room every morning looking out onto that view??

mcbee April 03, 2019

Also angry on your behalf.....the working world still has a bad case of chauvinism. Trump has made them bold. I like that you are not taking this.

edna million April 10, 2019

He IS an asshole, and so is everyone else involved in creating this situation!! I'm glad you're researching your options. And that view..... omg!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.