Almost Out of the Woods? in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 29, 2019, 9:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Diego was slowly getting better and then yesterday Carlo started showing signs of not being okay and so there I was early on my second vacation day taking pictures of the litter box and calling the vet. I took a few hours off this morning after returning to work to take Carlo to see her.

Both the cats are doing much better today. And for the first time in 4 ½ years, since I took Diego to have his bad eye addressed they were apart. The whole rest of the day has been affection city with extensive lap sitting even though I was trying to work.

There is no word yet on anything having to do with work.

I had six students in my daytime class today and that was cheering. They were all remarkably at about the same level so I could do things with them I can’t do with my other students, plank, hands and knees etc. etc.

So the prevailing theory is a virus or bacterial infection the cats are passing back and forth. They are going to do a first line of tests for salmonella and parasites and I should have some results by Monday. The good news is that there is no sign of organ damage or fever so we think it might be some kitty version of the flu.

There is an outside but unlikely chance that whatever Frida had was transmitted on my hands or clothes but we may never know. Frida was tested for contagious bacteria. The important thing is no permanent damage. Just like when most healthy people, (such as my massage therapist), get the flu they get sick, awfully, yucky sick, but recover.

Kes was able to come up this morning and not only provide a ride for which I am ever so grateful but also moral support, which honestly I needed.

I am letting my hair grow out from a very short cut and Tuesday I had the back trimmed but the top is driving me nuts. I want to hide under a rock or wear a hat or something. When I am home alone (the cats don’t care) I clip it back but the out in the world thing…

At least it is not thinning, something happening to many people I know.

We all may be wearing hats soon.

I have finally figured out how to get enough cardio work in everyday for my heart without trying too hard. It basically involves a controlled run here at home while I am listening to podcasts. My spreadsheet is looking good. :)

The very best way to get the cardio I need is on a treadmill but I am still resistant to going to the gym most days because of the time factor. I did do a track run again on Wednesday morning. Pretty soon it will be light enough and warm enough to do that more often.

If I ever meet that mystery man who enjoys my company with the great sense of humor and comfortable resources and excellent health insurance, (while I am conjuring him up) I think I will give him a home treadmill too. Cause he is going to be healthy. Just sayin’.

I am looking forward to what I hope is a non-crises weekend with the gym and Mrs. Sherlock and Frida and maybe church and yoga class prep as well as chores and time communing with my Instapot.

…A nice dull healthy uneventful weekend with no drama. But if the cats do get sick again, the vet will prescribe medicine to help with the symptoms and I am so glad for that.


Lyn March 29, 2019

Have a good weekend with the boys. 😸

Marg March 30, 2019

Poor boys - glad there's no permanent damage going on but that must be so worrying for you!

edna million April 10, 2019

Poor kitties! So glad there isn't permanent damage, but that's distressing. Eddie and Cayce have only been separated once since we got them - when Cayce had to have the end of her tail cut off she was at the vet most of the day. Eddie was quite upset about it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.