Wilma Rudolph I am Not in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 24, 2019, 1:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

But still, I had the best track workout this morning since last summer and I started timed workouts. Wilma Rudolph was such an awesome person. She went from having to wear a brace and an orthopedic shoe from damage she sustained fighting polio and had a baby two years (as a senior in high school) before she won a gold medal running in the Olympics.

It is a stupid fantasy that men have that women are not tough. They have no idea…

So much of what we have going on is mental toughness. You can see that in the leadership in New Zealand. I think there is some of that in the UK too but it is manifesting in a bizarre chaotic way.

Anyway, I have been preoccupied this weekend with sick cats. Both have been sick but Diego worse than Carlo. It just killed me to see him throwing up with nothing left yesterday. And there was huge relief when a few hours later he started drinking water on his own. And was able to keep it down.

This is exactly what happened to Carlo three weeks ago so there is no doubt that it is something in their food. I make big wet and dry food orders from Chewy and it means almost $100 worth of food is going to be tossed. They are getting nothing from that last two orders going forward.

It makes me mildly crazy that something I am feeding them is making them sick.

I have had to wash both my bath mats and almost all my towels more than once. And canceling everything I had planned, went and got small amounts of new food for them. They are eating and drinking today but everything else is still problematic. I am worried about their kidneys and will need to get blood work eventually.

Have I mentioned lately how grateful I am for hot water, indoor plumbing and a washing machine on location?

Through all this I have managed to procrastinate on doing my taxes but I am making an accountability commitment here that by this time next week they will be done.

My big weakness is Continuing Ed for yoga and I splurged this week right before the discount window closed and ordered a course called “Love Your Brain” Yoga and Meditation for Brain Injury. I have had two students present in class with concussions in the last year and I had a hard time finding suitable material for keeping them safe and adding benefit.

I received a manual to go with the online course. Other people watch Game of Thrones, I watch Continuing Ed. But still did you hear the story of Emilia Clarke? About her brain bleeds? You know, The Khaleesi?

Just Wow. Talk about tough women. And amazing family support. Wilma Rudolph had an astonishing mother and 21 siblings to help massage her legs and Ms. Clarke has amazing parents.

And I have Kes, my beloved sister, who is on her way to visit with a new bag of cat litter and moral support.

For this (willing to put up with sick cat smell) I am truly grateful.

That and the trees blooming in the neighborhood and the not so silent spring birds making a racket out there.


Last updated March 24, 2019


Lyn March 24, 2019

Get well wishes for the boys. 😸

Ragdolls March 24, 2019

I sure do hope that your furbabies are on the mend. I would contact Chewy and see if they would give you a refund, a prepaid label to return the unused food, and/or credit for a different product. Worth a try.

Marg March 25, 2019

Yes I would try Chewy too to see if you can get some of that money back. Poor fur babies! I hope they rally soon - you must have been so worried to see them like that :(

Telstar March 25, 2019

I somehow knew you weren't Wilma Rudolph...…….

Zipster March 25, 2019

I'm sorry your boys are sick. I have been having similar problems with my boy. He does this about once a year, throwing up and losing his appetite. The vet thinks he is flirting with kitty gastro issues. So we give a anti-nausea drug and change his food to a REALLY expensive prescription, only to have him reject it and go back to the usual. I hope they recover soon.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.