Very Bad Role Models and the Very Best in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 22, 2019, 12:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This very spring equinox shot is from Kes and Most Honorable’s yard when I visited. We had a couple of days this week of unusually warm dry weather and you could see stuff (particularly the trees) blooming in the space of a few hours. Normally we are under a shroud of rain while this has been going on so it has been a joy to behold.

Isn’t that what they say about Climate Change? There will be no normal anymore.

The last few weeks for my work based yoga class I have only had one student show up. And two weeks before that I had no one appear. First time that has happened over a yearlong run of classes. The student that has been coming is the co-director of my department and she is a great joy to teach. But it feels weird. I am having so much difficulty and stress around work and then we all take a time out and shift roles and…

So I made up my mind to drop the class but before I did I sent out an email to everyone who works in the building to see if anyone else was still interested.

And I got all sorts of responses! The day is wrong; their lunch hour is too short (the folks in the labs only get a half hour), they had heard the class was too easy, and so on. But I also got a number of positive responses. So I am most curious to see who actually shows up. It was all quite entertaining. I am only committing to doing it through the end of June.

Speaking of through the end of June…that is when our fiscal year ends.

I am having a heck of a time with my cohort formerly known as Saint Joe. We now have this standing meeting with our boss (Mr. On the Spectrum) on Wednesday at my regularly scheduled lunchtime. This week after not looking at me or speaking to me earlier, he popped his head in our office at the appointed time and said he was being pulled into something for his boss. So I am like, should I go to lunch, I have no idea how long this will be or if we are having the meeting?

After a few moments I decide to go ahead and go (I was hungry) and come back early. We talk in these meeting about shared projects and workflow. So I go.

You can guess what happens. I come back and the former Saint Joe, Motorcycle Man is not at his desk. He is in with Mr. On the Spectrum with the door closed. After a time he comes back and says not a word, not one word. Then he takes his lunch hour. (He had been eating at his desk, which he does when I am out.)

It is so uncomfortable. He is in the process of buying a house in a rural area that on a good traffic day (and they are rare) takes 45 minutes to drive. I know this because he was bursting to tell me last week and worked it into an IM about something else.

I think he is going to ask to work from home full time as our team member who moved to San Francisco does.

So yesterday I sent an email to our boss asking if I can work from home full time. I used to. It would be so much more emotionally acceptable because I wouldn’t feel the sharp edge of the discrimination that cuts so deep when I am confronted with this crap in the office.

Today…a full day later…I get a terse response that says wait until the end of the fiscal year. He has other requests.

So my response to that…I asked to take the two days off next week I am scheduled to be in the office.

I feel like such a princess even talking about this stuff. I still haven’t done my darn taxes so if I don’t get to them this weekend I need to do them next week.

And we have a terrible late flu virus going around here. People are really sick, including my massage therapist who called to cancel the massage I had scheduled for this evening.

But! It is spring and it is Friday and if I am lucky I’ll get to romp around with a freshly shorn Frida in the morning so it is not all bad.

And you people in New Zealand are a role model for us all. Thank you.


Last updated March 22, 2019


Marg March 22, 2019

Ugh! They don't half make life difficult for you in that place!

Lyn Marg ⋅ March 22, 2019

I agree!

Lyn March 22, 2019

Fun, interesting picture.

mcbee March 23, 2019

Sounds tense. I don't miss work place mind games at all.
Yes, on New Zealand. Big Problem + Clear Conscientious Leadership = Reasonable Steps to Prevent Problem. Our country should be ashamed of the time that is wasted on the tax payers dime as they all run around and play politics and self interest games.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.