Client #559a in Workout Questions and Answers

Revised: 03/18/2019 1:40 p.m.

  • Jan. 21, 2019, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Client #559a asks:
“Fasting before I start my weightlifting routine? I’m going to start a weightlifting routine where I hope to gain 20 pounds in 6 months. I’m going to start tomorrow. I decided to fast just to get all the toxins out of my body before I start the program. It has been about 26 hours of only water and lemon juice. I was aiming for 48 hours, but I’m wondering if it counterproductive. How long do I need to fast to get all the crap out of my system?”

I would honestly say there is no good concrete answer here as everyone’s body processes things differently. If I had to give an idea I’d say 24 to 48 hours usually before the body processes it out. There is no real evidence a detox is even needed water alone would be enough and the body filters itself naturally. The key thing is once you come off the fast keep your nutrition in check and the first day ease back into eating a bit and there may be a bit of a drop off in strength till you get back to regular feedings and keep your protein levels high.
I applaud you for setting a realistic goal with an achievable timespan as this will allow you to make this progress naturally and safely.


Last updated March 18, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.