March 16, 2019-- Sweet Plantains in Letters to my Friend

  • March 19, 2019, 5:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dear Friend,

I wrote you, and you wrote me. Wow you’re replying quickly and you’re picking up new people these days. What happened? What’s going on in your world? Aren’t you a cutie? And so sweet and caring. So what’s your relationship status? I guess I’ll never know. Well, I know you had a girlfriend two years ago. How about now?

I think I’ll just be posting short things just so I can upload and save recipes.

Anyway, I’m experimenting with new vegetarian and vegan recipes. I’m technically a piscetarian these days, but fish is just too expensive, and the roommate is sensitive to fish smell. I’ll try to respect that. Maybe I can still make fish soup, just not fried fish.

I give up meat for Lent. My supervisor/friend gives up chicken nuggets. Which one of us is making a bigger sacrifice. Her. Because she loves chicken nuggets, while I don’t care that much for meat. I should have given up Friends video or Lucky Luke comics or something. I could do that starting now.

Nah, I won’t.

Yes I will.

Or I can give up reading Quora.

Friends videos. I should do it. I’m giving it up until Easter.

btw sweet plantains is super amazing. I love it! If only it’s not drenched in butter and caramelized brown sugar… but then it wouldn’t be the same thing.

Love you much,
Your fangirl.

Sweet plantains

https://www.geniuskitchen.com/recipe/sweet-plantains-168548
Sweet Plantains
READY IN: 25mins SERVES: 4
UNITS: US
Ingredients
Nutrition

2 -3 ripe black plantains
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon natural vanilla extract
2 tablespoons brown sugar

Directions

To peel the plantains, cut off ends and discard. With a paring knife, make 3 shallow slits lengthwise along the seams of the skin and peel away. Split the plantains lengthwise.
Heat 4 tablespoons butter in a large skillet and place over medium low heat (plantains have a high sugar content and will burn if the heat is too high.)
Fry the plantains in a single layer, until golden on the bottom then turn over with a spatula.
Add the cinnamon, vanilla, and sugar and let cook a few more seconds, just to begin caramelizing the sugar.
Just before serving, melt remaining tablespoon of butter to finish the sauce. Serve immediately.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.