Client #065t in Workout Questions and Answers

Revised: 03/16/2019 3:13 p.m.

  • Jan. 16, 2019, 10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Client #065t asks:
“Should I start weightlifting if I want to play Varsity football next year?
I’m only 125 lbs but really want to start lifting so I can get some muscle because I want play football next year. Plus I’m really skinny. Strength training advice please?”

I would say yes if you haven’t started already. The more time you train for a sport the better because it allows your body a chance to grow and get used to the workload. Training is important and I would recommend free weights/ barbells and compound lifts to start off. Get a handle on where your body is at by working up slowly and make sure your diet and nutrition is locked in completely as if you only have ” till next year ” as a time frame you need to make sure the work you put in the weight room isn’t nullified by putting junk food on your plate. Healthy calories will get you to your goals and mix strength and speed work so you aren’t too one dimensional in your game. Plenty of protein and proper form will get you a long way especially if you are just starting out. Last but not least make sure you get enough sleep otherwise your body will burn itself out.


Last updated March 16, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.