I Caught My Break! in Scottish Meanderings

  • March 15, 2019, 1:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That title refers to my last entry but one where I detailed how life in general was really doing me in, due in part to the horrible benefits process I’d had to go through which completely stressed me out and where it looked like I was going to be done out of 2 years’ money which I was entitled to.

In a nutshell, the benefit I was on - Employment Support Allowance (ESA) - was stopped in September last year and I had to appeal to get it reinstated which meant amassing evidence for a Tribunal hearing and answering probing questions for half an hour. I was successful in doing that and was awarded what they call the work-related component for 24 months but because I had applied for Universal Credit (UC) in the interim, apparently that screwed everything up and I was told that I would only get backdated ESA from September until January when I had started the Universal Credit claim. As UC looked to be very much less from what I could make out - and it was possible I may not be eligible for any at all - I was furious.

And the whole thing took a tremendous toll on my health.

As ever when I’m stressed the wee wheelies of my brain churn away in the background trying to sort whatever situation it is out and I had decided to contact my MP for support and had an appointment with them next Friday afternoon. Meanwhile I was still trying to find out how much UC I would be entitled to but kept being asked for more and more evidence of capital then the other day a huge badass questionnaire came through the door to be completed. I was already annoyed that I would have to miss the possibility of getting to my writing group this month on Tuesday evening because I had an appointment re Universal Credit at the JobCentre the next day (last month driving out to the group had made me ill for days afterwards) so that was the last straw.

When you apply for UC you get a site you can log into and on there it lists the activities you’ve committed to doing for your next appointment or the tasks they’ve asked you to do (such as providing bank statements). There’s a section where you can contact and leave messages for the person you have appointments with which is dead handy. So I decided to try and find out for definite that this whole cock up was, in fact, correct and fired off a message to my work coach yesterday.

I got a reply this morning confirming that yes, what I’d been told was true and asking for one specific detail about the ESA. My heart sank but while I was replying with the answer to the question asked, another message came through 2 minutes later saying sorry - he’d just checked again and could see on his screen that my case ‘had been reinstated properly on the older system so I will close your UC claim today.’

The problem with that was that I had no idea what it meant and hardly dared to hope it was what I thought it was i.e. that I was home and dry! And because he’d closed the claim so quickly I no longer had access to the UC portal so couldn’t ask him! Cue several tense hours. At 4.50 p.m. (they shut at 5!) I managed to get hold of someone at the JobCentre who confirmed that yes my ESA will be paid for 24 months and no I don’t have to fill in the questionnaire or attend any further appointments and yes they will write to me to confirm that.

Couldn't be happier. Totally made my week.

So basically all that drivel means that I can stop stressing about paying my mortgage until September 2020 when I’ll have to go through the whole sorry process again. But at least I can breathe until then!

And remember I wrote that I’d received a tax refund in January which was EXACTLY the amount I’d spent on Christmas last year? Almost to the last penny. Well the amount I’m getting in ESA is EXACTLY the amount of my monthly mortgage payment - to the last penny!

Cue Twilight Zone music.



^..^Kat March 15, 2019

YAY! I'm glad that's all sorted now.

Lady of the Bann March 15, 2019

So glad I don't have to work or show that I am looking for work or fill any forms. I get my state pension a small pension from my old job and nothing else and I know there is no point in trying for more as I have enough money to take me over the limit. I might start complaining when Peter is not able to help with household expenses,and I can't see him getting home so that will be soon.

Marg Lady of the Bann ⋅ March 15, 2019

That’s one of the things which annoyed me - if I’d have been that bit older, I could have been claiming the state pension by now and I wouldn’t have even bothered about benefits because it’s just not worth the stress. But I can’t get it until I’m 66 and have only just begun to receive a tiny work pension last year when I was 60 - the rest has had to come out of my savings which are dwindling fast!

Anaiss March 15, 2019

I don't understand what all those benefits are, but it's very good that it worked out in your favor! Money woes are SO stressful.

Marg Anaiss ⋅ March 15, 2019

If you can imagine not being able to work and having absolutely no income coming in, that’s the position I found myself in in 2015. Over here we pay what’s called National Insurance contributions when we work which is supposed to guarantee various things, part of which is a certain amount of money each week if you lose your job. The reality of obtaining that money is a different story though - they make it as difficult as possible - and that’s what all this has been about.

ConnieK March 15, 2019

Definitely a good money sign! I'm so glad for you. It sounds like a frustrating process.

Marg ConnieK ⋅ March 16, 2019

It was without a doubt!

thesunnyabyss March 15, 2019

awesomeness!!! that is really good news,

take care, hugs!!!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 16, 2019

Thank you!

JustSurviveSomehow March 15, 2019

Yay! I'm so glad that it worked out!

mcbee March 15, 2019

I was getting a panic attack just reading this....so glad it seems to have all worked out!

Sabrina-Belle March 16, 2019

I'm so glad it's all sorted now. The benefit system nowadays is so complicated.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 16, 2019

I think they do that deliberately so that folk drop out of it.

noko March 16, 2019

It is like a dead zone for benefits between 55 and 66 and I am so glad to read here you are going to be supported so you can deal with your illness and support your daughter in all the ways you do for the next while.

Serin March 16, 2019

Phew, that was a long road but wonderful that it broke in your favour.

Kristi1971 March 16, 2019

Phew! So relieved for you!

ODSago March 18, 2019

Oh so pleased for you. Such an ordeal! I think I can hear you exhale over here in FL Stress, stress and now none. Whhhhhhhsssshhhh.

Marg ODSago ⋅ March 18, 2019

I wouldn't be surprised haha!

NorthernSeeker March 18, 2019

I'm so glad to hear that your mind has been put at rest for awhile regarding your supplement. What a coincidence with those numbers. How are Nikki and family getting along?

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 19, 2019

They all seem to be coping ok thanks - Nikki is besotted with the new arrival and the girls appear to be fine with him from what I can make out - so far anyway :)

edna million March 19, 2019

Oh, that's wonderful news!!!! What a huge relief - it would make me ill worrying over that, despite having perfectly normal health, so I can't imagine the kind of toll it was taking on you. That's one of the awful things about having to get government assistance, and it's true here also- they put massive stress on the people whose health is the most fragile, making everything even worse.

Marg edna million ⋅ March 19, 2019

I don’t know how folk can work in jobs like that - I wouldn’t be able to sleep at night!

edna million March 19, 2019

And how weird about the amount, after the tax refund synchronicity!

Marg edna million ⋅ March 19, 2019

I know!

kmh. March 19, 2019

Financial stress is so horrible as it is, let alone having to go through all of that just to get some help that you deserve :(
I'm so relieved for you that it is all sorted for the next while xx

Marg kmh. ⋅ March 20, 2019

Thank you!😊

Mystery April 10, 2019

In the late 80s and early 90s I was on disability. I know the frustration of trying to get what's owed to you.

Justlovely April 24, 2019

I cannot imagine the stress of all of this! I'm glad it's resolved for a good stretch of time now. And yeah, I've had that thing where when I needed money, I got exactly what I needed. It definitely feels like some higher power intervention is going on in those situations. I'm so glad to be here. I haven't been on again in ages. I dropped my paid Opendiary subscription last month.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ April 24, 2019

Yeah I didn’t bother paying them anything after I had a look round the site - it just didn’t seem to compare with here. I was glad I reclaimed my diary though despite the fact I had all the entries printed out already. It’s funny to look at the notes - there were no ‘conversations’ in those days - you had to go onto someone’s diary and do a reply with RYN at the start (then they had to try and remember what they had been woffling on about in your diary :) - it’s a shame because the notes can sometimes become more interesting than the diary entry!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.