Client #751a in Workout Questions and Answers

Revised: 03/14/2019 12:54 p.m.

  • Jan. 11, 2019, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Client #751a asks:
“Will taking BCAA’S and weightlifting prevent muscle loss while running in cross country? I have gained quite a bit of muscle but now I’m running in cross country, I don’t want to lose my gains so will taking BCAA’S and also weightlifting prevent muscle loss? I don’t mind not being an amazing runner I just do it for fun so I don’t care if the muscle slows me down. Thanks!”

BCAA’s will definitely help with recovery and paired with a clean healthy diet you wouldn’t lose muscle or not lose much at least. The key would be eating enough especially if you’re running cross country you will need to at a minimum take in 500 calories above what you burn off.
Your body needs 20 amino acids 9 of these are considered whats known as essential which means your body cannot make them on it’s own and you would have to get them from foods or supplements. BCAA’s cover three of these leucine, isoleucine and valine. BCAA’s are proven to aid in muscle growth and muscle recovery when taken after workouts and can even aid in a longer workout when taken during workout. Whey proteins these days also contain your branch chain aminos as well which give you all you need to help promote growth but taking an additional BCAA supplement can’t hurt .


Last updated March 14, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.