Client #647t in Workout Questions and Answers

Revised: 03/13/2019 2:46 p.m.

  • Jan. 6, 2019, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

__Client #647t asks:
“If I’m 20lbs overweight, and I start weightlifting, will i get heavier? I’m 19 years old (almost 20). I’m 6 feet tall and 203lbs (20 lbs overweight according to BMI). I want to start weightlifting, but I don’t know if by doing that, I will gain more weight. Does anybody know if I will get heaver by lifting, because I want to lose around 20lbs.”

Lifting by itself does not result in weight gain. If anything excess body fat will be lost and muscle gained. But the proponent I would focus on is keeping both your workouts and nutrition where they need to be. One without the other will not yield good results. You wouldn’t be able to out train a bad diet and if you don’t eat properly your workouts would suffer. Food is fuel so if you are mindful of what you put in your body and train hard you will be fine. Find out what you need daily calories wise and work off of that with a macro plan Higher in protein as protein is essential for muscle growth and repair and time carbs eating them pre and post workout. If you give your body what it needs it will perform for you.


Last updated March 13, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.