March 8, 2019-- Spicy Fish Soup in Letters to my Friend

  • March 9, 2019, 10:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dear Friend,

I haven’t been on Prosebox often at all. Which means I haven’t journaled at all. I wonder why. I used to journal SO MUCH, and then I met you, and then I talked to you for two years, and these days I never feel like I need to write my thoughts down anymore.

I wonder why. Is it because I’m finally living my life? That would be so odd.

Anyway, today is the first Friday of Lent. I am Catholic, as you know. The thing is that I am Catholic by choice, too. Well, I converted later in my life, let’s say that. I don’t know if it is entirely my choice without tremendous help from God’s grace. Four years. I’m still very passionate, I think, although some of the zeal diminished. But I wonder if that’s a good thing. I’m very lucky to have befriended my college friend Morgan, who was my role model in the faith. I definitely needed her as a role model. I would not have developed such a strong faith without her as a role model.

You are my role model in relationships, all kinds of relationships. You’re my role model in being an intuitive feeler and getting along in the world. I love you so much. I really, really do.

Anyway, the whole part about being Catholic was a preface. I’m participating in a retreat for busy students. This must have been the best idea ever! I have to answer a few reflection questions in order to launch the season.

Reflection Questions

What are you hoping to gain through this experience of retreat?
I don’t have a very specific hope, hmm. I wish to gain a better relationship with God. I want a more consistent prayer life, growth in virtues and joy in daily life, success in kicking this habitual commitment of a moral sin.

Are there any questions/topics that you want to talk through with your spiritual mentor?
Am I in a good place in my relationship with God? How can I do more for God and for others? How can I overcome this one bad habit? I know that it is a mortal sin, but I don’t feel too much remorse, and I still take great pleasure out of it. How can I lessen pride and a judgmental attitude?

I need to adopt a more just-pick-one-and-do-it attitude. Just pick one task and do it. Do not overthink. Do not overplan. Maybe I should limit my planning time. Like 10 minutes. 10 minutes for planning my next step. And after that, just carrying out things.

Love,
Your fangirl.

https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/16858/spicy-fish-soup/

Spicy Fish Soup
Ingredients
40 m
4 servings
146 cals

1/2 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
Campbell's Condensed Chicken Broth Condensed Soup 10.5 Fl Oz

$1.29 for 1 item - expires in 1 week
1 (4 ounce) can canned green chile peppers, chopped
1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 1/2 cups canned peeled and diced tomatoes
Hunt's Fire Roasted With Garlic Diced Tomatoes 14.5 Oz

$1.00 for 1 item - expires in 4 days
1/2 cup chopped green bell pepper
1/2 cup shrimp
1/2 pound cod fillets
3/4 cup plain nonfat yogurt
Add all ingredients to list

Directions
Add a note
Print

Prep
10 m

Cook
30 m

Ready In
40 m

Spray a large saucepan with the vegetable cooking spray over medium high heat. Add the onions and saute, stirring often, for about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and chili powder and saute for 2 more minutes.
Then add the chicken broth, chile peppers and cumin, stirring well. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 20 minutes.
Next, add the tomatoes, green bell pepper, shrimp and cod. Return to a boil, then reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for another 5 minutes. Gradually stir in the yogurt until heated through.

Per Serving: 146 calories; 1.7 g fat; 12.2 g carbohydrates; 19.3 g protein; 46 mg cholesterol; 874 mg sodium. Full nutrition


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.