Why I am sitting here eating ice cream at 11pm in Everyday Musings of a Very Tired Mama

  • March 8, 2019, 11:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just have to document this fucking day so I can forget about it. After I recovered from the stomach bug Tuesday/Wednesday, Babe started throwing up Thursday afternoon. It’s 11pm on Friday and I think tomorrow he will be feeling much better. Part of me is resentful that I had to be on the mend in 12 hours and he is going on 36. He was able to go to Men’s group on Tuesday but I ended up having to stay home for Women’s group on Thursday. He had to shoulder so much less than I did. Sounds selfish and all that I know, but there it is.
So today he was still miserable but we had so many errands to do. I knew he wouldn’t be able to handle Pickle and Boo feeling like that, so I told him that I would take Boo with me. But I woke up at 6am and decided to try to get out of the house and get as much done as I could before Boo woke up. I didn’t want to have her with me for stuff that I just had to run in for quickly because it’s a pain to get her in and out of the car constantly. By then Pickle was up and I made him breakfast and helped him get the TV set up and gave him clear instructions to be quiet, not mess with Daddy unless Boo woke up and not to open the door for anyone. I even left some snacks out for him and let the dog out. I told Babe to text me if Boo woke up and I would come back home.
So I ran into Publix because there were a couple things there that were on sale that we needed. Then I went to the Parks Department to reserve a shelter for Pickle’s birthday party. He turns 6 on April 2nd. Crazy how time flies and stands still at the same time. Anyway after that, I went and got gas, then picked up coffee at Dunkin, then went to Trader Joe’s because I needed some of their coffee and this awesome guacamole they have and a few other things. Then went to the bank to get money out and then home. By this time Boo was up. Babe had fed her breakfast. He went back to bed and I had two children to entertain for a couple hours before Boo finally went down for a nap. Gave Pickle another set of clear directions like I had earlier. Then I went to Walgreens to pick up a script, grabbed a taco at Taco Bell and went to Walmart where I spent $220 on groceries that should last us the next two weeks. Then I went to Wendy’s to pick up a Happy Meal for Pickle and then, since it was $2 iced coffee at Dunkin, I stopped there for a refill. Also while out, I paid the water bill and reserved two days at camp for Pickle for spring break next week.
Boo woke up about 5 minutes after I got home. Dragged 5,000 bags of groceries in the house, put away perishables, fed Boo lunch, did a whole other ton of crap that needed to be done and soaked some beans. Put the rest of the groceries away which wasn’t an easy task because the fridge is full of a bunch of stuff that likely needs to be thrown away and I didnt have time to do that too. Made homemade meatballs, fed Pickle and Boo dinner. Sat down and did nearly 3 hours of my freelancing work. I have to find a way to work for another 7 hours by the end of Sunday. In between work, I had to help with some stuff for Pickle and Boo. To get myself going, I vowed to take a hot, relaxing bath when everyone was squared away. I hadn’t taken a shower since Thursday. So we finally got Boo to bed and at 10 oclock I locked myself in the bathroom and compromised by taking a shower. By then, my basket of fucks was empty and I stayed in there for a long time, conditioning my hair, shaving, doing a foot scrub,…everything I have been neglecting. I couldn’t remember the last time I had washed my hair. Sat down with Pickle to watch TV. He fell asleep pretty quickly. And now I am taking the time to let all this written vomit out. My last task of the night is to put the beans in the crockpot to cook overnight. Tomorrow I will slow cook a Cuban pork roast all day and we should be able to have it for dinner with yellow rice, plantains and Cuban bread.
Most importantly, I count my blessings. I feel 100% better, Babe is on the mend, my children are not sick, we have enough money to survive the next 2 weeks, our bills are somewhat paid and everyone I encountered while out and about today was really super nice and helpful. And the fries I got at Wendy’s were perfect.
I’ve no idea what we will do this weekend, except try to put this house back together. Amazing how when you’re sick, the house just goes to shit. Sunday is church and Boyd Hill nature preserve is having a gator fest so Imma see if Pickle wants to go. His Spring brfeak started today and runs the entire week next week. He’s going to camp from 9a-3p Monday and Wednesday. Tuesday, Thursday and Friday are up in the air. There are a couple moms in the area that I may schedule playdates with. Tuesday we will probably walk the two miles to a local playground at some point in the day. No clue for Thursday. Friday I might take them to Great Explorations or another park. I wish I could handle both of them at the beach, but that would be a nightmare-like the worst nightmare you’ve ever had in your life. For the I-don’t-know-what-we-will-do days, I bought a tiny inflatable pool for both of them and a huge bottle of bubble solution, as Pickle is into blowing bubbles these days. This weekend I will probably also pick up more DVDs for him at the library and maybe load some new games onto his tablet. The girls across the street are on spring break too and I don’t know what they’ll be doing, but they may be able to come over and play with Pickle.

Now I am sitting here debating if I should do some more work or call it a night. I think I’m going to call it a night, maybe read a little bit before I pass out.


Pies on a Carousel March 11, 2019

A Cuban pot roast sounds like fun. I feel like I need to learn more Cuban recipes now that I live here.

PickleMama Pies on a Carousel ⋅ March 11, 2019

It was (and is) delicious. Just put the roast in the crockpot with some mojo sauce. Now we've got plenty of leftovers for sandwiches, tacos, burritos.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.