Come and Meet ...... in Scottish Meanderings

  • March 8, 2019, 10:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ruari Alistair Rae Clark!


Born at 8.37 p.m. on Tuesday, 5th March after a pretty smooth labour all told. Before he was weighed, we all took turns in guessing the weight. When I looked at him I didn’t think he looked more than 8 lbs but the moment I thought that, I saw the numbers 8 lbs 6 ozs flash up before my eyes - and that’s exactly what he weighed in at!


First meeting with his sisters.


She hasn't stopped smiling!


He’s an absolute delight so far - has been sleeping through the night already which his mum is very happy about as you can imagine! When Nikki took him home, Lily doted on him, fussing over him and stroking his face - Lilah sat with her back to him and played with his balloons (baby? What baby??) - much as we expected.

And I lasted out the 12 hours we were at the hospital! It was touch and go at some points but I got there and saw him being born which was fantastic. I also took a video (Nikki had asked me to take one earlier) and I still fill up every time I watch it :)

It’s Nikki’s birthday tomorrow (I mean how can you top that for a present??) so I’m going out to be with her - it’s Joel’s weekend for the girls but Jane’s picking them up at 3 p.m. instead of 10 a.m. so that she can spend some of her birthday with them and I’ll get to see them with him before they go off. I’m really excited to be seeing him again!

More details later - I haven’t got round to answering comments from my last entry yet but will get there eventually. Nikki sent me this pic from today and I can't believe how much he's changed already. (Ok that might be from a doting Granny viewpoint - if so I apologise :)


By the way his name is pronounced Roorie - I don’t think I’d heard it said like that before - the more common pronounciation is Rory as far as I know. But I must admit I like it. (The Alistair is after my Dad who died when I was 16). And he’s already little Roo Bear!!

I can’t tell you how happy my daughter is to have him finally on the other side!!



Anaiss March 08, 2019

He's adorable! Congratulations!

Marg Anaiss ⋅ March 08, 2019

Thank you!

Mystery March 08, 2019

Awww...

Marg Mystery ⋅ March 08, 2019

:)

history of love March 08, 2019

Congratulations! Glad to hear it all went well. And his nickname RooBear is adorable! x

Marg history of love ⋅ March 08, 2019

I know I love it!

Redhead Puddleduck March 08, 2019

Aww so cute! The pronunciation is the way we pronounce it in Gaelic ;) Ruiridh is another spelling of it too :)

Marg Redhead Puddleduck ⋅ March 08, 2019

Yes that’s the spelling I’m more familiar with - I didn’t even realise there was another one!

blackpropaganda March 08, 2019

Wonderful!!! Congrats to all the family

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ March 08, 2019

Thank you!

Deleted user March 08, 2019

He is beautiful ! Congratulations !!!

Marg Deleted user ⋅ March 08, 2019

Thank you!

noko March 08, 2019

Such good news all around. Congratulations!

Marg noko ⋅ March 08, 2019

Thank you!

Kristi1971 March 08, 2019

Congratulations!!

Kristi1971 March 08, 2019

Oh! And I've been doing a little more digging on my Scottish heritage. My Paternal Grandfather's parents came over from Ireland, and my Maternal Grandmother's parents were from Scotland, Clan Maxwell. It's a virbrant history that goes back to the 1200s. I'm hoping to get to Scotland next year to see the castle. :)

edna million Kristi1971 ⋅ March 08, 2019

My ancestors were Maxwells from Scotland too! On my dad’s side, so it’s my maiden name. I don’t know a lot of the history, but they ended up in Georgia at some point, before moving to NC. I would love to do some digging myself.

Marg edna million ⋅ March 10, 2019

Wow wouldn’t that be something if you two were related?!

Ginger Snap March 08, 2019

Oh my goodness, he is perfect! I love him! Big congratulations to all of you!!

Marg Ginger Snap ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you!

ConnieK March 08, 2019

Oh, how precious! His coloring is so good and he is perfect and if you WEREN'T a doting granny, I would be very disappointed in you! Seriously, he's a pretty child, just like his sisters. Glad your health held up, too. {{hugs}}

Marg ConnieK ⋅ March 10, 2019

Lol thank you!

edna million March 08, 2019

Ohhhhh, how gorgeous is he?!? Everyone looks very happy! They are about the same age difference as my nieces and nephew, and the girls always doted on him, even when they were older. I am so glad everything went well, and love his name!

Marg edna million ⋅ March 10, 2019

I think he’s going to be spoiled rotten by all the girls around him! :)

thesunnyabyss March 08, 2019

congratulations!!!

what a beautiful little family they are!!!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you!

Ann1107 March 08, 2019

Congratulations to all. Grandchildren are such a gift. Enjoy your weekend! I like his name too.

Marg Ann1107 ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you - I like it too!

Just Annie March 09, 2019

Aww, he's adorable! Congratulations to all!

Marg Just Annie ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you!

Adventure before Dementia March 09, 2019

Ah, new life...just beautiful, congrats to all concerned...

Marg Adventure before Dementia ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you!

Serin March 09, 2019

Congratulations (and happy Birthday to mom!) Welcome to the world, little man.

Marg Serin ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you!

JustSurviveSomehow March 09, 2019

So adorable! Congratulations! :)

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ March 10, 2019

Thank you!

Justlovely March 12, 2019

How wonderful!

NorthernSeeker March 12, 2019

Apparently the good thing about larger babies is that they sleep better at night and sleep for longer periods generally. He did change a lot between photos. Are you feeling recovered from your very long day at the hospital?

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 13, 2019

No I’m not too great at the moment - I think the tribunal hearing plus the stress of still having to fight for money and then the birth has done a number on me. So glad I managed to be there for her though.

Oswego March 12, 2019

Congrats to all! The pictures of the baby are adorable!

Marg Oswego ⋅ March 13, 2019

Thank you!

kmh. March 13, 2019

Awww he is so precious! Welcome to the world, Ruari. Congratulations to you all x

Marg kmh. ⋅ March 14, 2019

Thank you!

Sabrina-Belle March 16, 2019

How did I miss this entry! He's beautiful and such lovely photos, especially the one with the 2 girls, congratulations!

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 16, 2019

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.