March 5th in Posso's Prompts

  • March 6, 2019, 4:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

“There comes a time when every man needs to make a choice, whether it’s a professional choice or whether it’s a personal choice. In the end, it’s about integrity, and it’s about chasing after what you really want, even if that means showing you both care a little. And sometimes… well, sometimes you just have to do what’s right for your friend, even if it means sacrificing your own happiness. When it comes down to it, you just have to be proud of the decision you make.” - John Dorian, Scrubs

A best friend is visiting Madison today to interview for surgical fellowships. In four years, this guy and I developed a ridiculous and impressive friendship over our shared love of medical shows like House and Scrubs, the fascination of how fucking delicious oven toasted taquitos are when you’re drunk, obsessions over running (well, for me the thought of being able to run a marathon while this asshat successfully completes triathlons and ironmans like its a daily workout)
Mitch was there through the times where I hated myself for being an idiot and putting myself in stressful situations just to have to try harder to one up people to show them how much smarter I was. If he reads this, which I’m assuming he will as he’s read other entries, he might get perturbed when I say he exudes an arrogance and cocky confidence that can rub people the wrong way for sure, but I’ve always respected it. He knows he’s fucking gifted and that he doesn’t have to take shit from people if he feels like he doesn’t want to. It’s one of the reasons why he’s a surgeon, and you and I aren’t. The guy I know though, runs deeper. If you befriend him, he will let you into his world and he can be a big ol’ softie. We’ve cried it out drunk in parking lots after yelling at each other. We’ve both been there when the other’s had obstacles jump into lives unexpectedly. Nice to have a friend that knows what you’re talking about when you’re throwing cancer terminology around. I gave his wife the good old Posso runaround in which I make fun of you until you either break or throw it back into my face, and his wife Slaggy (okay, its Megan but if you’re a Scrubs watcher, you’ll get where Slagathor comes from) threw it right back in my face and I fell in love with her just as much as Mitchell did.
The guy has battled demons just as many have. I’ve always been impressed with how see through he can be over situations that are so uncomfortable to some. When he was worked up about getting married, he put it aside just to laugh at me about how visibly sweaty I was getting standing in his groomsmen party just from being hot and nervous. Mitch was nervous when he found out he was going to be a father and even today he said he didn’t know if he was even mature enough to be in charge of a child, but for someone that claims to be winging it, his daughter seems to be blossoming into a little heart felt joy that leaves her dad notes when he’s road tripping. We started as two teenage kids that had certain paths and dreams in mind and bonded over this and it’s led to two very different paths that I don’t think either of us envisioned in life but we both seem to be ‘winging it’ to the best of our abilities and even though we don’t see each other in the quantities we once did, the distance hasn’t kept us from being friends and he’s just one reason that I sit back some days and realize that after all the struggles, self induced or not, that his friendship is a reason why I still am doing what I do. We both aren’t perfect by any means but we’ve always accepted each other’s flaws and it’s helped us maintain one of the strongest bonds I hold with another person.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.