Feb. 26 - Accismus in Posso's Prompts

  • March 4, 2019, 3:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Accismus (n:) a form of irony in which a person feigns a lack of interest in something that he or she actually desires.

I finally found a word that I could use to describe something I am guilty of almost every day.

The movie, Frozen. I pretended I hated it, which to a certain extent, I did. I had to hear “Let It Go” fifteen to twenty times a weekend in the piano bar while the song and movie were popular. Secretly, I would go home and watch my copy of it quietly protected by the covers of my bed and my flimsy door lock.
Speaking of the piano bar, I developed a distaste for the song, “Stacy’s Mom.” The issue I had was that they changed Stacy to Posso and there were Tuesday nights where a hundred strangers would sing in unison “Posso’s mom has got it going on” and it’d drive me nuts. Fact of the matter though, I loved the attention and the conversations it would start. It was a great way to open a conversation to getting a drink for someone or a segue to walking away from something or someone that was pissing me off.
I was hammered one night with friends and unleashed a tirade on how much hate I had for Jennifer Lawrence. To this day, I have girl friends that send me articles and blurbs on Lawrence and how great she is as an actress, or a defining role shes taken blah blah blah. I laugh, because I really have no reason to hate her at all, I do it because it drives my friends nuts - I mean, I watch Silver Linings Playbook often just to watch her version of a crazy person portrayed way too accurate for me.
I know my friends tolerate the twisted narcissistic act I like to conjure when people are enjoying things in unity and, sure, it might be a feeble attempt to pry for attention but I have to say that I find more joy in arguing with people even when I know I’m wrong then to sit there and say “yeah, I think Bohemian Rhapsody was a good movie” and then not have anything to talk about and sit in awkward silence.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.