Not Me, Not Today, No Way in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 3, 2019, 7:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mrs. Sherlock had quite the group snowshoeing adventure on Friday, (adventures in off groomed trail activities and older folks who couldn’t get up the hill, and snow up near her waist and lost baskets and a group leader who just kept going) and so she wasn’t totally adverse to a shorter hike yesterday. We went up to Powell Butte, a nature preserve and watershed; right next to the cemetery Mr. Finch is buried in.

It was just above freezing and the wind was intense and ever present.

She and Frida picked me up at the gym. I had already made my way through a good workout. Miss Frida was scheduled at the groomers to be clipped on Wednesday. But we had snow all afternoon and everything was canceled (even though as it turns out things were passable).

Frida was happy to have that extra fur up there on the Butte. :)

I felt a little off emotionally because of the intensity of my week at work but we had a good time together anyway. Frida and I had a good romp up near the old orchard and we saw a number of raptors. It was crazy crowded when we came down, people waiting for parking spaces and not letting anyone behind them pass and get out.

The Instapot is a big hit here at Chez Noko! So far I have made excellent quinoa, heritage cannellini beans that melt in your mouth and sweet potatoes.

You sauté the sweet potatoes in a little butter and maple syrup first and I am not sure why but I couldn’t get them to pressure cook after so I need to work on that recipe. I got a BURN alert. I used about half the butter and syrup the recipe called for. I just need to reheat them more conventionally and they’ll be fine.

This morning I am making a big batch of oatmeal for the week where you sauté the dry oatmeal first to bring out the nutty flavor. I think it will be fine because you add water after.

It is so much easier to clean than the crockpot and the quinoa came out way better than when I make it on the stovetop. I like the fact that it uses a lot less energy than the stove too.

I have been planning to eat more cheaply and more plant based foods as I transition out of full time work and this is such a great tool for that. I ordered a big box of staples from Bob’s Redmill this week. The combo with my Imperfect box delivery every other week makes grocery shopping so much easier.

I need to try the steam feature next.

Friday afternoon it was sunny here, cold and dry and sunny. This is rare here this time of year as usually it is raining. When I clocked out of work I walked the half mile down to the convenience store that sells soda cheaper to get a Diet Dr. Pepper, my lingering wicked (environmentally and health wise) indulgence and I found myself smiling. I was happy.

In spite of it all.

The cats are okay, I am still a little concerned, but they are right here and okay. I have much to be grateful for and I am aware of it. I am not having any medical procedures. My Friday students, usually so sober and quiet, laughed at my in pose jokes in class and I was thrilled to make that simple connection with them.

It occurred to me this week that it has been many years since I have been to a warm beach where you can walk barefoot on the sand and actually go into the water. I think I might plan a trip to the Caribbean or Costa Rica (big yoga mecca) for the fall of 2020. It would be so great to have that to look forward to.

Other than that and the possibility of a splurge history trip to Mexico City if I can keep earning a little money going forward, teaching or consulting to afford it I am content to stay here if I can find a little safer neighborhood that I can afford to live in.

Boy talking about consulting…These young folks coming up after me in the work environment, Mr. On the Spectrum, Motorcycle Man (the individual formerly known as Saint Joe) and the guy that is being tasked with taking over the responsibilities they are taking away from me, who asked me questions about how many man hours would be saved doing such and such but looked at me blankly with cluelessness when I talked about how things actually worked…they think differently than I do and they are addicted to being overwhelmed.

Not me. Not Today. No way. La la la.


Last updated March 03, 2019


Lyn March 03, 2019

👍

Marg March 04, 2019

Glad you're rising above the madness - at least for today!

edna million March 04, 2019

I think addiction to being overwhelmed is a current national health crisis. Glad you had some happy time away, and a trip to a nice sunny warm place sounds like a great plan. Yay for the instant pot!! I haven't used a lot of my features yet either- haven't used the slow cooker option at all, and I think I've only done sauteing once.

Zipster March 04, 2019

I've never heard of sauteing the oats first, I think I will give that a try. I sometimes think reality is a foreign concept to some of the younger generation.

noko Zipster ⋅ March 04, 2019

I only do it with steel cut oats. It worked great in the Instapot but I have done it in a small skillet and sometimes the saucepan I cook the oatmeal in with butter and without.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.