just a novelty in 2019

  • March 1, 2019, 12:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

2.27.19 - 12:48pm

I have gotten so many phone calls today. It’s crazy. We all know the phone drives me absolutely nuts! But I am trying my best to remain calm. Mostly I’m at the point where I just roll my eyes every time it rings and try really hard to smile as I pick up so they won’t notice my scowl. That stuff transfers through the phone whether you realize it or not. It’s something I learned a few years ago so I always try to fake it as best as I can. You should hear some reactions I get when I’m laughing and have to answer. You can tell it makes them laugh sometimes too, which is cool. So yeah, my current goal is to fake it ‘till I make it.

It’s hard to believe it’s about to be March! I have about two months left of this work, which is amazing, but I feel like there is so much left to do. A lot of people that we haven’t seen yet. I have a feeling that it is not going to slow down at all around here like it usually does. What a strange season. We’re doing really well but who knows how it’s going to balance out in the end. It’s been so weird that I don’t even want to attempt to predict how it’ll be.

In other news: Y’all would be proud of me because I have not been over to the neighbour’s house since Sunday. 🤣 Instead I have been quietly enjoying my time on the couch watching TV as per my previous routine. No drinks though. I haven’t had a sip since those beers on Sunday. I almost had a drink last night [like hot tea with a shot] but I used my superior willpower to not do it. I ate a couple bowls of popcorn and a half glass of grape juice instead. 🙄


2.28.19 - 1:05pm

And then I went home, had amazing tacos for dinner, and had a shot of whiskey in my green tea while I watched Father of the Bride 2. haha. So much for will power. 🤦‍♀️

The funny thing was that I didn’t really enjoy it at all. Normally I enjoy drinking, basically anything haha, but this didn’t quite satisfy me. I’ve been fighting off some kind of cold so maybe it has to do with that. My neighbour’s actual quite sick right now so I’m blaming whoever got her sick for trying to get me sick too. I told her she better hurry up and get well because we won’t be able to hang out until she does. haha. Not only can I not afford to get sick right now [it’s bad enough dealing with germy clients all day] but also it’s very possible that these new meds are killing my immune system. I’ve only done one round so I’m not too concerned about it but I probably shouldn’t expose myself to any more germs if I can avoid it. I’m kinda bummed because I’m guessing that means no hang out at all this weekend. Unless I force her to wear a mask around me. =P

There are a few random things I’ve been meaning to mention that never seem to fit into the entries. It would be smart if I wrote these things down somewhere so that I won’t forget, but of course I haven’t. I know there were some things about the neighbour’s friend that I’ve been trying to process. It’s just weird.

Right now I’m at this point where I’m trying not to overthink it, but I’m also trying not to chase him. It’s funny that I even feel like I’m chasing him at all. That doesn’t happen with anyone else I talk to. Not even the client, or really anyone at all. I never feel like I’m bothering them or trying too hard. I think maybe the main difference is that they always respond to my texts, even if it’s much later or the next day. He just doesn’t respond at all, which apparently is a serious pet peeve of mine....so I’m learning…

I don’t want to be that girl again. I was her once before and it was such a disaster. I’d definitely prefer not to repeat it, ever again.

I’m not even sure what my deal is because I don’t even think I’m interested in him. 1) He’s so not my type. 2) It’s probably because he reminds me so much of TF. 3) I think I get flattered by men that overtly flirt with me and that’s all. 4) I like the chase?

None of those are actual reasons to be interested in him specifically. It could be any guy. I mean he’s nice, and he makes me laugh sometimes, and he has really pretty eyes. That’s it so far. Oh except he does also invite me over to steal the neighbours’ leftovers when he cooks. haha. But he hasn’t actually cooked in a while. I think they’re kind of over it for now and he’s been working a lot.

In all reality I don’t even know if the dude is actually interested in me. He’ll make these little random comments but I’ve noticed that most of them come in front of his friends. Maybe he’s just trying to impress them? He doesn’t seem like the type to date much. It could be that they give him a hard time about it. Or something.
Also, I think part of it could be because I’m the new girl in the group, so to speak. As far as I can tell they have all been hanging out together for a long time, or at least they’ve known each other since school [even if they didn’t hang out]. It doesn’t seem like a lot of new people get folded into that group very often. That’s the impression I’ve gotten so far. Plus I’m a stranger. I didn’t grow up with them. They didn’t know me before a few months ago. I could be like a novelty.

He does make a bunch of comments that throw me off a little. Like the other day when we took the pozole over. They asked if I made the food and I said I don’t cook. I was sitting on the couch drinking my beer as this all happened. They started joking about having it good, or I don’t know what they were going on about honestly. But I heard him say that it looked good to him. And with all the talk going on I understood it to mean that I looked good to him as a wife sitting back on the couch drinking my beer.

[sidenote: There’s this guy sitting in front of me right now and he’s super fidgety. It’s driving me nuts! 😳 Just sit still man!]

Anyway, the comments are always really random like that. A few weeks ago while I was over at the house we started talking about what we like to drink. I mentioned that I usually prefer vodka in mixed drinks [they take shots] and I’ll drink shots of tequila or whiskey [which they can’t stand haha]. H was saying that compa’s into both of those too and as he said that I heard from behind me, “Hey! So are you single??” and he was looking me dead in the eyes when I turned around. I did one of those nervous laughs, on purpose, and joked that I had to go home. Technically I was already on my way out the door with my containers in my hand and everything, so I thought it was funny. I really don’t think he was serious either.

Last Friday I was at home texting with L asking if she wanted to play mancala because I was bored [she won’t play me anymore though because I keep winning] and apparently she’d already invited me to go hang out at her house but I’d missed it. She was just playing video games or whatever. I decided I didn’t have anything better to do so I made myself a drink and got ready to go over. As I was doing this I got a text from him asking me to “come over” and I responded “oh yeah sure” because I thought he was at home and joking. Well as I walked outside and rounded the corner I came face to face with his work truck sitting in the driveway. I didn’t even know he was there!

They teased me for bringing my own drink, especially because I told them it was whiskey and water. Which technically was correct but I didn’t mention it was flavored water. hah. I like to cut back on calories where I can. This dude talked to me a little bit off/on which was nice. He tends to not talk much in general. I mean my first impressions of him were always me wondering if he was high because he’d be pretty faded on the couch. I think it might be that he just drinks a lot. Funny enough he was giving me a hard time about my drinking. Uhh..hello dude you’re one to talk!

He ended up leaving early that day since he’d come from work and had to work Saturday too. Almost immediately after he walked out the door these two love bird neighbours of mine started fighting over a “dreamy” comment that was made. It’s this whole big drama that started on Wednesday because compa was texting H but not me so when I asked why he said that H was sooo dreamy.
Well, I thought this was hilarious so I repeated it out loud and apparently that word is a huge trigger for L. It was all a big coincidence but she linked it back to these particular slutty girls that always use that word and some previous comments from H. I don’t even know but she got serious and it was so much drama. I mean, I’m exaggerating a bit but still. It was to the point where I was getting a little uncomfortable.

I ended up on the phone with el compa during this whole spat because he’d accidentally called me once, and I was letting little Dev text him emojis [OMG one time he put the lips, lipstick, and like a monkey, or w/e and I was dying laughing! I thought for sure this guy is going to think I’m coming on to him! haha!!], then he ended up calling me again for real. So we were chatting on the phone and he was telling me that these two fight all the time I just hadn’t been privy to it before. hah. [sidenote: I actually kinda liked quietly talking to him on the phone while I laid back on the couch. There was something comforting about it for whatever reason.]

That whole thing is just to say that now the guys are giving her a bad time about it, and so am I, because she seriously took it the wrong way. The whole thing was between compa and I. There was no reason for me to tell them other than I thought it was funny. When he left that night and they started bickering I immediately texted him to say that they’d only made it 30 seconds. haha. He told me to have fun. -_-
Then later that night H and L were talking about a reggae concert they want to go to. At some point H called compa and they were discussing the whole thing. I heard H start saying stuff like, “I don’t know. Ask her.” “Why don’t you ask her?” Etc. I was pretending not to listen though. Then H calls out my name and asks if I want to go with them. I made a joke about how I didn’t want to go anywhere with “you losers” and we all laughed. But what I think was happening was that compa was buying everyone’s tickets to go and maybe he was going to get mine too? It’s been like a week now and I’m still not sure what ended up happening. If he got tickets or not. I guess I’ll find out later. It’s not really my style of music but I strongly considered going. It’s just that the concert is the end of June and I’m usually flying to meetings around that time. Plus we all know I’m terrible at commitment, especially that far in advance. haha. And what was I going to do, share a room with the 3 of them?? That has the potential to be quite awkward. We’ll see what happens between now and June though.


Last updated March 02, 2019


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.