1st day new job,future garden, cheapskate life in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • Feb. 28, 2019, 5:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After i work at Dollar General i did orientation at Ollies it was my first day of paid training. We watched several training videos afterwards i bought a plant urn, dirt and fertilizer to replant the peace lilly from my fathers funeral. I never attempted to keep a plant alive on my own till now. Dad was the one with the green thumb and due to the poor condition of this peace lilly it shows! I am hoping with some tlc the plant will not die. When it gets warmer i plan to put it outside nature knows a lot more about keeping plants alive than me.

Each time my cats see me water the plant or with the plant they step up to the planter moving the dirt around. I often catch myself pulling Coal from the planter. I dont know if he intends to play with the plant or if he views it as a litter box either way spring cant come fast enough.

During the summer i planned to grow a family/friends community garden in memory of my father at my mothers house we all plan to grow vegetables, fruits and our favorite foods. After seeing the condition of this peace lilly i am concerned for my future garden. I was helped by my mom and dad grow a garden as a kid but my friends who offered to help me have no experience. I have been studying up how to effectively accomplish this goal. My mom told me if we get some do well she will teach us how to can. My friends are excited and like being involved. The veggies are a bonus. :)

My husband Talan commented he doesnt know how to grow anything dont ask him. Its ok his mom is amazing at growing plants if all else fails i will call her for advice. My mother in law Dee always has a beautiful garden every year. She grows something that reminds me of a jungle in her basement. His mom is an awesome mother in law. I am lucky to have her.

After i work out my 2 week notice at Dollar General and get settled in at Ollies Outlet i plan to start working as a volunteer with Habitat for Humanity building houses. I havent got started on that yet because i was hoping for warmer weather.

I wish i could afford to buy a nice doublewide to move to moms or a cheap house to do repairs to. Sadly lately i can barely afford to eat. I enjoy doing repairs. My husband avoid all repairs at all costs. If up to him the project will sit untouched forever. He gets irritated when i do repairs but i enjoy working with my hands because dad taught me when i was a kid.

At Goodwill they were selling a dishwasher for $30. I was really tempted due to mine not working but since they didnt test it to see if it works yet or not i hesitated. I talked to mom to see her opinion she said after taxes get a new one at least a new one guaranteed to work.

This summer i plan to go camping and fishing with my husband. I cant afford extravagant vacations but we can find free and low price activities near our hometown. Best of all i can ask mom watch cats a few days so i can have our adventures. I am still looking up low price vacations in our area.

Since i work tomorrow guess i better get some sleep. I wish life was more interesting unlike everyone else i am very humbled in my life. I am currently reading Suddenly Frugal by Leah Ingram trying find ways to save money. I like this book. :)


Beret February 28, 2019

Your county extension agent should be able to provide you with lots of helpful info on growing vegetables specific to where you live. It's usually without cost to you. Look online or go visit them. That's what they are there for.

A Pedestrian Wandering March 01, 2019

You would probably enjoy anything written by Amy Dacyczyn (pronounced like Decision). You can find her books or request them at the library. When we were young, her ideas saved us a lot of money.

Kristi1971 March 05, 2019

I love the idea of a community garden in memory of your Dad. :) What a wonderful tribute to the man that taught you so much.

I also love vacations that don't cost a lot. My girls are on spring break in a couple of weeks, and we are going hiking on the nice days (if there are any - all we have had is rain here for weeks), local parks, picnics, that sort of thing. You don't need to have $ to enjoy a great day of vacation, right?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.