Racism....In My House? in Thirty-Four

  • Feb. 27, 2019, 10:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How about No....this is what I just sent my mother in law....

Good evening. I just wanted to touch base with you about something that happened at my house on Sunday.

When my dad arrived he greeted everyone, said “hola!”. I watched you immediately turn your back and gave him a short “hello” with your back turned to him. He told me that he then said “como estás?” To you and you refused to acknowledge that he had greeted you, only saying that you don’t speak Spanish and never will because you’re “an American”.

He was pretty offended by that. He is an American too. Don’t forget that. He didn’t push it any further out of respect, but he didn’t have to because you were very disrespectful to him, however that’s how he is. I don’t want there to be any issues past this because I am tired of that kind of nonsense.

It’s 2019, race and language should never be an issue. If you don’t understand what’s being said, at least let him know, ask what was said and move on, instead of that kind of rudeness. I don’t think he will ever speak spanish around you again. I don’t know if you realize this but not only did you hurt/upset/offend HIM but you did the same thing to me, and in turn your own son because he cares greatly for me and my family.

I understand you come from a different school of thought, but none of that is going to fly in the future. Especially when you do it in my house to my family. Feel free to judge others based on the language they speak or their race, but please don’t do it in my house.

You don’t understand what it’s like growing up getting in trouble for speaking the only language he knew (Spanish). So when something like this happens, it probably doesn’t bother him now, but it bothers the heck out of me.

i’ve been stewing on this since it happened. I am glad you are here, and make the effort to come out and visit us and spend time with us, however I will not tolerate that kind of disrespect for my father.

Randy is a an addition to my hispanic family. This issue is something that I know you have had a hard time with. My family is very mixed and accepting to everyone and while we have always dealt with the racism and disrespect for being Hispanic, I cannot and do not accept that kind of thing happening inside my home.

I hope this doesn’t deter you from coming out and spending time with all of us. We appreciate everything you do for and with us.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.